CS2 and Leopard

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by fyrmedic, Oct 24, 2007.

  1. fyrmedic macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
  2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    It worked on 9a559 after it was copied over from a Tiger partition using Migration Assistant. So yes, it works, but I haven't actually tried the installer.
     
  3. fyrmedic thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    #3
    thanks

    thanks I guess I will cross my fingers in a couple of days.
     
  4. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    I've installed CS2 on a Leopard beta and yes, it worked fine for the short time I played with it, although the only app I've used heavily that way is Photoshop. Illustrator and Indesign also worked, but I didn't use either of them for more than an hour, so can't say that I gave it a workout.

    This was on a G5 we were evaluating for possible upgrade at work.

    I've also used (but not run the installer) CS2 on an Intel Mac - albeit without VersionCue (which is broken on Intel anyhow). That also seemed to be okay, but I didn't give it much of a workout.

    Hopefully nothing has broken between recent betas and GM =]
     
  5. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #5
    I am curious why anyone would think CS2 would not run on Leopard...?
     
  6. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #6
    Because Leopard is new and Adobe are idiots?
     
  7. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #7
    Point taken. :D

    But I'm fully expecting my much older Photoshop 7 :eek: to run on Leopard.
     
  8. fyrmedic thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    #8
    I hope that the new leopard OS will be compatible with older programs....With the change over to intel chipsets I see the support for powerpc slowly going away....If I had to guess this will probably be the last major OS upgrade that fully supports the power pc.
     
  9. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #9
    Looking at what the system requirements are for Leopard, I would hazard a guess that 10.6 will support PPC as well - Leopard's specs (867MHz G4) aren't super cutting-edge even by PPC standards. But time will tell...
     

Share This Page