cs3+air install issues

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by rroback, Jul 14, 2008.

  1. rroback macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #1
    I'm trying to install cs3 on my air, and I'm having issues. It goes through a slow instal, and ends up saying it installed shared components, and had a failure of installing cs3. I uninstalled, and tried to run a clean sweep ( adobe one), but the script doesn't seem to work. any ideas?
     
  2. Alan Taylor macrumors 6502

    Alan Taylor

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Location:
    Mississauga
    #2
    I had a similar problem on my Mini. I called Adobe to complain - they offered to put me on technical support but said it could take a while - I ended up declining because I'm selling the Mini soon anyway - I just did the project on a different Mac that it installed fine on.

    It's stupid that we have to put up with so much crap after paying a fortune for the software though!
     
  3. born2win413 macrumors member

    born2win413

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    #3
    I'll be installing Apperture 2 then instead then after reading this.
     
  4. LinMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #4
    Are you using the Superdrive or remote disk to install CS3?
     
  5. n0de macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    #5
    Please tell me you are not trying to upgrade CS1/CS2 to CS3. That doesn't work well on any mac, none the less an Air.
     
  6. rroback thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #6
    I got it working. didn't work with superdrive, but worked with remote disk. weird.
     
  7. bertpalmer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    #7
    Sure, because Aperture will do what photoshop, illustrator, indesign, dreamweaver, flash etc will do... :confused:
     
  8. millypede macrumors 6502

    millypede

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #8

    Im not being funny, but you have brought a MacBook Air to run CS3, are you mad? :confused: thats like taking a old Skoda to compete with a Ferrari F1 car in a race!
     
  9. Kebabselector macrumors 68030

    Kebabselector

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #9
    Looking at his signature I'm guessing he didn't. He was making a point that Aperture is not a replacement for CS3.

    I'm sure CS3 o.k on the Air, after all I ran it on a Core Duo 1.66 MacMini without serious issues (for photography, no complex filters or related stuff).
     
  10. bertpalmer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    #10
    Errr... No. My point is that Aperture is for making overall adjustments to photos and improving photographic workflow.

    CS3 is a suite of software for major design, web, rastor, vector and flash work.

    He might as well said he is going to use textedit instead of CS3...
     
  11. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #11
    I run CS3 on my Air and it works great. I do my "Big" editing on my iMac (one good thing about Adobe Licensing is you can install on both a desktop and notebook if they're both yours), but for smaller pictures it is perfect
     

Share This Page