CS3 problems

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by xtn, Jun 18, 2008.

  1. xtn macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #1
    problem #1: every time i open any application in CS3 i get the same message "this application has been moved from the location in which it was originally installed. some settings need to be repaired" and then i click repair now, but i must do this EVERY time for EVERY application.

    problem #2: Bridge unexpectedly closes EVERY time

    problem #3: i have no Magic Wand tool in Photoshop, and i have no idea how to add it to my toolbar. in addition, i have no "Tools" dropdown menu.

    has anyone else had any problems like this?

    thanks in advance
     
  2. DesignerOnMac macrumors 6502a

    DesignerOnMac

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #2
    Where did you move CS3 from?
    Have you verified and repaired permissions?
    Did you delete the CS3 preferences?
    If you have done all of these things and your experiencing the same issues, uninstall and then reinstall!
     
  3. xtn thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #3
    i moved it from applications to my dock.

    what do you mean by "deleting the CS3 preferences"?

    and, yes, i've done the rest.
     
  4. HomeBru Studios macrumors member

    HomeBru Studios

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    #4
    I had that problem a long time ago...

    If I remember correctly, I believe I just removed the CS3 off of the dock and re-dragged it to the dock. It seemed to me, at the time, that my initial dragging was somehow faulty (something I did wrong?!?!?) and the second time I dragged it onto the dock it seemed to copy the pseudo-alias correctly.

    Sorry, I can't remember any better than that (it was about a year ago) but I DO remember that it was simple to fix.

    Another way to get around the whole problem is to create a folder (somewhere) - create aliases to the CS3 programs of interest and place them in this folder - drag the folder to the dock. This is how I have mine set up now because I use a lot of different tools for web development but didn't want to clutter the dock with an egads number of icons. My folder springs up when I click it - select the tool I want to use and off I go...

    Hope one of these methods work for you.
     
  5. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #5
    Do you have the Quick Selection tool (keyboard shortcut W)? If so, click and hold on it in the tools palette and the Wand will appear next to it (you can also press shift+W to cycle between all tools with the W keyboard shortcut, that all reside in the same location on the tools palette).

    There isn't a Tools menu. There are "only" the following menus:

    - Photoshop
    - File
    - Edit
    - Image
    - Layer
    - Select
    - Filter
    - Analysis
    - View
    - Window
    - Help
     
  6. xtn thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #6
    thanks a lot IgnatiusTheKing! the helped me finally find the magic wand tool!

    i may have to try reinstalling it to get everything working again though.
     
  7. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #7
    Glad to help. You should try the Quick Selection tool next time you need the Magic Wand. You'd be surprised how accurate it is (not perfect, but pretty damn good is most cases).
     

Share This Page