Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

motherduce

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 3, 2005
Houston, TX
I've got a Macbook Pro and the CS3 Web Premium upgrade sitting in my cart at Amazon.

I'm a web designer and instructional designer. I have a future use for Flash (elearning, advertisements), but currently I'd probably only use Fireworks and Dreamweaver mainly. However, I hardly ever use WYSIWYG. I use Coda and CSSEdit mainly.

I do love Fireworks and Flash, and for the extra $100, getting Photoshop, Illustator and Acrobat is a nice bonus, plus, of course, Dreamweaver.

Wondering what your evals are on CS3 and if it's worth the $500 upgrade price. It's pretty much all or nothing for me, Adobe's single product pricing is ridiculous.

Cheers!

Anyone? Need to place my order this morning!

devilot

Moderator emeritus
May 1, 2005
I do love Fireworks and Flash, and for the extra $100, getting Photoshop, Illustator and Acrobat is a nice bonus, plus, of course, Dreamweaver.
I have pretty much no experience in any of this...

Just wanted to say that I'm a sucker for "saving" by buying bundles and whatnot and you're right; if the $ break down means that an additional $100 gets you those "extra" apps, I definitely think it's worth it. Especially if (I'm assuming you'd be running these on the iMac G5 in your sig) you wind up getting an Intel Mac, CS3 is widely touted as being quite the speedy on the newer Macs so in purchasing CS, I think it's wise to consider the possible future uses of said software, no? :eek:

dingdongbubble

macrumors 6502a
Jun 1, 2007
Well, to tell the truth would you use ANY of those programs? If yes or maybe yes, then you might want to buy them. You could also buy the pckage and then sell the Photoshop and other programs which you dont use for sa half the price (if that is legal).

Mac In School

macrumors 65816
Jun 21, 2007