CS5 question

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Reality4711, Jul 21, 2015.

  1. Reality4711 macrumors 6502

    Reality4711

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    scotland
    #1
    Is CS5 going to work with El Kapitan?

    Thank You
     
  2. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #2
    I have talked to someone who is running CS5 on both the BETA's. They had to do a work around install of Java to make it work, but none the less they are having no other issues after the Java work around. Adobe & Apple will hopefully have it fixed by launch.
     
  3. Bending Pixels macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    #3
    Adobe is no longer supporting CS5. Don't plan on an update/fix for it to run under El Capitan.
     
  4. The Bad Guy macrumors 6502a

    The Bad Guy

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    Yeah, that isn't gonna happen for CS5.
     
  5. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #5
    I have talked further with the people currently doing it and asked how. The work around taken from MacStratergy in this article is how they did it. I am using CS6 and may have to go to this strategy myself, hence the research I have been following up on. My people at work use CS5.5 so I have to look at options. Subscription may be an option, but is a very last one.
     
  6. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #6
    Agreed. It is not in either company's interest to spend a dime on that combo. Both will want everyone on CC on top of 10.11. CC (LR and PS) work just fine on my 10.11 Beta.

    Now if Adobe would just move both LR and PS to Metal.
     
  7. Reality4711 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Reality4711

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    scotland
    #7
    I suppose from the working mans perspective the CS5 on El Kapitan is a 'no bother' scenario.
    For me a bit of a downer.
    If CS5 & El Kapitan cannot work together then I am left with 'Yosemite' and that is not a prospect I relish, it being probably my least favourite OS since I started with Apple. CS5 was my last investment in Adobe - no more for me.(too big for my needs)
    I have a term contract with C1 but am not enjoying the experience so far and the monthly payments kind of wrankle when some months photography is not a priority.
    I feel just a bit stuck.
    I am pretty sure that El Kapitan is the right route to go but after that it is a bit up in the air. I guess I will see which of my Adobe software is saleable and see if 'Affinity' or 'Perfect Suite' are affordable then.
    I suppose if all else fails 'Photo' plus plugins could be sufficient but not being able to occasionally go a bit mad with the processing will be a bummer.
    To be backed into a corner just when spending your way out is a no no is more than a bit depressing.:(:(
     
  8. Bending Pixels macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    #8
    Keep in mind that CS5 is five (5) years old. That's ancient in software history.

    What specific features in CS5 do you use all the time. i.e. which ones are "must have" in an alternate/replacement program?
     
  9. Reality4711 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Reality4711

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    scotland
    #9
    If I am honest the allinone aspect is important and maxing filters to create something off the wall.
    C1 is the best image quality I have seen. I suppose I just do not want to lose the Photoshop safety blanket; you know, if in doubt I can always fix it in PS!
    Oh dam it. I will just have to wait and see what happens.
    Oh as you say five years is a long time but I can still scan negatives from my Canon AE-1 35mm and God knows how old they are;)
    Perhaps I should have stayed with SnowLeopard & CS5. If I didn't keep up to date perhaps I would not get frustrated. Ignorance is bliss:rolleyes:
     
  10. The Bad Guy macrumors 6502a

    The Bad Guy

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    Me personally, I'm running CS6 and Mountain Lion still and will use it until it dies. There are no compelling features in Mavericks and Yoesmite is a considerable downgrade.

    Actually, with Apples hardware pricing going back to times of yore, no upgrade options after purchase and the direction they're moving with their software, I'm seriously considering jumping to Windows for the first time ever once this machine is done.
     
  11. Apple fanboy macrumors Core

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the Lens, UK
    #11
    I think you will find Windows to be equally frustrating.
    I'm running Mavericks on my late 2012 iMac, and will probably leave it there. With older hardware, each update just gives more frustration. Better to forego some newer features and have a reliable platform IMO.
     
  12. The Bad Guy macrumors 6502a

    The Bad Guy

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #12
    I'm not frustrated with Mountain Lion, I'm just not interested in what's come after it. Apple are about phones and watches these days (understandable), not computers and what creative professionals needs are.
     
  13. Apple fanboy macrumors Core

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the Lens, UK
    #13
    True. My wife was trying to take a photo of something she made with her iPad yesterday. Not a challenging photo, but the noise was so bad. She asked what I meant, so I shot the same thing with my Nikon. It was like night and day.
     
  14. JackRoch macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #14
    Both been running constantly since the release of El Cap. No probs so far (said he, tempting fate).
    And that's with both running from an external USB2 HD!
     
  15. bhtwo macrumors 6502a

    bhtwo

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    #15
    I will not be 'upgrading' to El Fuerer anytime soon, only just got Marmite running CS5 just fine (used the Java fix)... lost my beloved Bryce though.
     
  16. Reality4711 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Reality4711

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    scotland
    #16
    I don't understand any of that!

    Translation required please especially "Marmite-CS5-Java" thingy.

    Thank you.
     
  17. JackRoch macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #17
    Perhaps I should've been a bit more explanatory in my post too. I think Java isn't included with the basic OS.
    So, when I upgraded to Mavericks (='Marmite') and subsequently to El Capitan, on Photoshop's first run you get a dialogue box saying it needs Java to run and provides a link which automatically installs it. i.e. 'fix'.

    Thereafter it's been plain sailing for me, incl. my 'go to' PShop plug-ins like NeatImage and Tonality Pro.
     
  18. bhtwo macrumors 6502a

    bhtwo

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    #18
    Yosemite= marmite... I pronounce it 'Yozzermite'.

    Only just got it after buying a new Mini... I got the Java link off the Adobe site... JavaForOSX2014-001.dmg
     
  19. Reality4711 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Reality4711

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    scotland
    #19
    "Bryce" ???
     
  20. bhtwo macrumors 6502a

    bhtwo

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    #20
    Yes... it's a 3D graphic proggie... very good it was.
     

Share This Page