CS5 - Should I take the plunge ?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Pyrotechnic, Sep 8, 2010.

1. Pyrotechnic macrumors 6502

Pyrotechnic

I know there has been a lot of discussion on here about Adobe CS5 and whether its worth the money or not. However, I have received an email from them giving me 50% off if I buy before Monday.

Now, I have never used PS before, simply as I have never been able to afford it and have refused to use any copied versions offered to me over the years. I could stretch to the £320 they are now asking, although this will be the most expensive piece of software I have ever bought.

Should I take the plunge ?

2. Apple Corps macrumors 68030

Aperture or Lightroom or Photoshop or ?????

They all have some neat features but none of them have all the features.

iPhoto does a decent job with basic editing. Aperture has some excellent color fill and sharpening. PS has the nifty Content Aware Fill.

I find PS hard to follow and use - just not intuitive for me. iPhoto is limited. Aperture 3 - hmmmmmmm.

Perhaps you could expand on your needs a bit more. That may help me finally get off the fence and make a decision - can't use the Trial versions forever.

3. Padaung macrumors 6502

Padaung

If you really think you are going to use it in the future, then for that size a discount I'd go for it - I wish Adobe would send me an email like that.

Unless you have to have all the new features with each update there is no need to upgrade until around version CS8 (Adobe normally allow upgrades to work on the previous 3 generations, after that the upgrade becomes more expensive). PS is a fantastic piece of software. Agreed it is a tricky to use at first, but there are plenty of good online tutorials to be found after a bit of a Google.

I'm also a huge Aperture fan, and there are many that swear by Lightroom - horses for courses in my opinion (choose the best tool for the job/you).

4. FourCandles macrumors 6502a

Just a couple of suggestions...