Resolved Cube Kernel Panics on Booting Leopard

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by bunnspecial, Feb 13, 2015.

  1. bunnspecial, Feb 13, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2015

    bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #1
    In another thread, I showed my recent installation of an SSD in my Cube.

    I used a dual 1ghz Quicksilver to set up the SSD before installing it in the Cube(due to the relative difficulty of accessing the Cube HDD). I split the drive into two partitions. I cloned the current Cube HDD(with Tiger and OS 9) via TDM. This partition boots both OSs and runs fine.

    I put a fresh Leopard install on the other partition. I ran set-up assistant and the 10.5.8 combo update from the Quicksilver, and everything seemed fine with that install.

    I finally tried booting it from the Cube earlier this evening, only to find that it would kernel panic while booting. I'm attaching a picture of the full screen text.

    I found several write-ups online of folks successfully using Leopard Assist or the equivalent Open Firmware tricks to install Leopard without any trouble, so it doesn't seem as though it should be possible without any real trouble. I would think that what I did would work, although obviously I went wrong somewhere.

    By the way, this particular Cube has a CD-RW drive(which I don't want to give up) so using Leopard Assist isn't really an option, although I suppose I could borrow the DVD drive from my other Cube. I could also do a Leopard Assist/TDM install from my other Cube, if running the install from a Cube is a necessity.

    Any ideas about what's going on here?

    By the way, if it's relevant-450mhz Cube, GEForce 2MX, 1.5gb RAM, and an mSATA SSD.
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  3. bunnspecial thread starter macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #3
    128gb on the label...or actually closer to 120 once formatted

    I also realized I forgot to attach the picture. Hopefully it's at least legible.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    You should not be getting that panic. Is this a factory pressed OEM retail Leopard disc?
     
  5. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #5
    The Cube isn't finding the driver for it's CPU. Probably because the install was from the QS.

    My only solid guess would be that it's necessary for Leopard to be installed from a Cube.
     
  6. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    All the platform drivers are on the installation, unless it was tampered with. A cloned Leopard OS will boot in a Cube without a problem.
     
  7. bunnspecial thread starter macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #7
    Yes, factory retail 10.5.0(I normally work from a copy of this disk, but didn't have it with me when I was doing this. This install was done with the pressed disk)

    As I said, I did a straightforward install onto the drive from the Quicksilver then booted and ran Setup Assistant and Software Update to bring it up to 10.5.8.
     
  8. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #8
    I understand, and I'm not arguing your point.

    But Bunns IS having a kernel panic…

    And this line at the very top of the display - Unable to find a driver for this platform: \"PowerMac5,1\".\n"@/SourceCache/xnu…

    To me indicates that the a CPU driver can't be found. I often get this SAME type of kernel panic whenever I install something that modified boot caches with my GigaDesigns dual processors installed.

    Am I looking at the wrong thing?
     
  9. LightBulbFun macrumors 6502a

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #9
    I have had this problem Too on a Sawtooth and in tiger I found out i had a bit of a corrupt install so maybe try installing it again or something also it cant find the platform driver not the CPU driver...
     
  10. bunnspecial thread starter macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #10
    Sounds like maybe I should just try reinstalling. I'll do a TDM mode install from my other Cube(with a DVD drive) and go from there.
     
  11. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #11
    Is the Cube running the latest firmware?

    I've got a hunch it's firmware related going off the stuff I learned on the 10.5 Support Essentials course many years ago. As OS X was installed for a different platform the OS X installer wouldn't have checked and installed a firmware update if required on the Cube.
     
  12. bunnspecial thread starter macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #12
    Actually, I don't think so. I seem to recall that the most recent firmware version was 4.x, and this one is running 3.x(I checked it somewhere in the course of installing an SSD in it).

    I've just downloaded 4.1.9 from the Apple website, so will boot into OS 9 later and update it.
     
  13. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #13
    Cube's cannot update their firmware via the Leopard installer. They can still run Leopard with the older non-4.1.9 firmware.
     
  14. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #14
    I realise that - they're not officially supported being under 867MHz. I was discussing it as a general high level process.

    I'd still update the firmware.
     
  15. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #15
    There is no difference is the Cube is on an older firmware and installed on a non-Cube machine to that of the Cube 4.1.9 firmware and it being installed on a Cube. The primary fix in the Cube 4.1.9 firmware is Target Disk Mode bug fixes and FireWire stability.
     
  16. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #16
    OP has nothing to lose by trying it.

    I'm trying to help him out, not engage in a p***ng contest.
     
  17. bunnspecial thread starter macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #17
    I ran the firmware update, and the computer successfully booted into Leopard.

    I wouldn't have thought it would make a difference, but indeed it did.
     

Share This Page