Curious about replacing GPU on 2011 13" MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by eUnique, Jun 4, 2011.

  1. eUnique macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    #1
    So I have read a lot about how much better the AMD Radeon HD 6750 is than the GPU in the 13" and base 15" MBP. I really like the portability of the 13" but want the better GPU so is it possible to install the AMD Radeon HD 6750 in my 2011 i7 13" MBP?

    Thanks
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    No, the GPU is not user-replaceable.
     
  3. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
  4. eUnique thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    #4
    Seems odd that you could buy it seperate online than, but bummer.
     
  5. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #5
    Why is that odd? If Apple slotted the chips in their mobile computers you could physically switch it, but they don't- the chips are soldered in. Other manufacturers slot their chips.
     
  6. eUnique thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    #6
    It's odd that you can buy something you can't install or use. Am I missing something? :confused:
     
  7. Peteman100 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    #7
    The GPU on the 13" is physically on the same die as the CPU. No way to "replace" it.
     
  8. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #8
    You can buy all sorts of things you can't install or use. I have a BMW, but I can buy a CV joint for a Porsche. OMG... I can't use it!!
     
  9. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #9
    No room on the 13" logic board for an additional GPU chip such as the ATI either. Hence why only the 15" has the option of a discrete GPU, which again is not user upgradeable.
     
  10. eUnique thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    #10
    Wow.... you fail at logic or seek to "win" petty things in life way too much.
     
  11. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #11
    You either don't understand what I'm saying or fail at explaining what exactly your issue is. Either way... you can't replace the GPU on the MBP.
     
  12. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #12
    Take a look at an iFixit teardown of a 2011 13" MBP and try to even find the GPU, much less space or a way to connect a different GPU.
     
  13. pezasied182 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #13
    To be fair, you could hypothetically replace the GPU on a MBP if you replace the CPU and Logic Board along with it. But that would be way way expensive and I don't know if it would even work.

    If you really REALLY want to get a better GPU, sell your MBP for $1200-$1400 and buy a 15 inch. Both models of the 15 inch have the newer GPU. It actually is fairly portable. I have a 2011 13 inch and my girlfriend has a 2010 15 inch.
     
  14. Chaelmc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #14
    I think what miles is trying to say is, just because it doesn't fit a MBP doesn't mean it wont fit other computers/etc that people might want to fit it to.
     
  15. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #15
    Laptops with upgradeable GPU cards? Very few and far between. It's not happened yet to my knowledge in any Apple laptop.
     
  16. JD92, Jun 4, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2013
  17. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #17
    You can buy many different kinds of memory, but that doesn't mean you can install any particular one in any particular computer. You can still buy DDR2 RAM, but since the curent MBPs use DDR3, the DDR2 chips are useless for a current MBP.
     

Share This Page