Current Location in Google Maps

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Mercod, Jan 15, 2008.

  1. Mercod macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    Can anyone get this working? I just keep getting an error - location could not be determined. I know it works from mobile phone (cell phone :D) signal triangulation on the iPhone, but how does it work on the iPod Touch - is it just a defunct feature??
     
  2. Lordillingworth macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #2
    i have the same problem, i just looked on the website and it says something like '...even find yourself using some local wifi networks the ipod blah blah blah...'

    I am not sure what it means by using 'some' local wifi networks, it doesn't sound like a very professional way to word things!

    anyway, no i have no idea how it works or if it does, i would also like to get to the bottom of this!
     
  3. Aaleck macrumors 6502a

    Aaleck

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    #3
    Maps uses both the cellular towers and a program called Skyhook. For the iPhone anyway. iPod touches only can use Skyhook. So if you're on a wireless network thats not in Skyhook's database, it won't work.
     
  4. chall5 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    This was my understanding aswell
     
  5. speakerwizard macrumors 68000

    speakerwizard

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #5
    unless they get cloud to register the location of all their hot spots like with skyhook i guess it will not work on touch. of course you would also need cloud membership.
     
  6. dwright1974 macrumors 6502

    dwright1974

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    How dare they not know that my wireless router is in the hallway ;)

    That would make sense ... great for when you're in McDonalds and you want to know what's about, (they're the only ones who have free wi-fi in the UK I think!).

    - D
     
  7. Mercod thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #7
    they could have had a 'backup' system based on IP address for when the Skyhook system is not available. I know that the IP address at work for example traces to within 1/2 mile on internet maps. Try it with your IP address - there are plenty of these sites around...

    Maybe not perfect location info but gives a general idea :D
     
  8. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #8
    That would be nice. It should give you at least the city/zip code you're in so you can make searching for an address easier (you just need to put in a street number/name and it could assume you want the closest result... put in the full address if you don't).
     
  9. CTU Kyoto macrumors member

    CTU Kyoto

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #9
    I downloaded the software upgrade and opened up Maps. As a UK Apple user who's lived in Japan and now resides in Germany, I thought this would be another great feature that was either US-only or only practical in the US...

    To my great surprise, touching the location button zoomed the map to about a 100 feet radius of my apartment building in the quiet suburbs of Frankfurt!! I nearly dropped the iPod :D

    So if it's not working for you, don't imagine that it's limited to US inner cities or anything...
     
  10. buffalo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs / Ohio
    #10
    The location feature located my house using the home network. I was impressed, a nice feature to have.
     
  11. Bowlerguy10 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    At my computer
    #11
    Mine worked fine right off the bat. It's really really cool that I was cruising around in Africa and told it to find me and it zooms me maybe 500 ft above my apartment building. Really cool technology.
     
  12. dscuber9000 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana, US
    #12
    Wow, I didn't think the iPod touch would get this feature. I doubt I'll ever be able to use it anyway, but it's nice to have it. :p
     
  13. Santoclauze macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #13
    I have a Ipod Touch 2nd Gen and I'm trying to change the current location for my google maps since it's still based on my old address which is about 20 miles away and I want it for my new address obviously.

    Can anyone help me out?
     
  14. CBragg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    #14
    Skyhook

    You can add and update your router's location in Skyhook's database by submitting this form on their website.

    I just changed mine when I moved a month ago, and it was updated within a couple days. My Touch now knows my location within a few hundred feet.
     

Share This Page