Current Windows 7 PC OS Disc - Install on Mac?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by not1lost, Jul 5, 2012.

  1. not1lost macrumors member

    not1lost

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Location:
    Paragould Arkansas, when I'm not in my RV
    #1
    I am new to Mac and just purchased a new iMac 27' i7 3.4 model 12.2 And I LOVE iT! Although there are a few things on my old windows pc I would like to use on the Mac without switching machines. Although I plan on keeping the old windows pc I would like to install the windows 7 OS disc on boot camp in this machine. Is that doable and ok? HELP!!! :confused:
     
  2. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #2
    Yes, it is possible. As long as the version of Win7 is a full retail version and/or an upgrade version and not a version that came with say a Dell PC.

    Check out Apple's Boot Camp page for more detail.
     
  3. not1lost thread starter macrumors member

    not1lost

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Location:
    Paragould Arkansas, when I'm not in my RV
    #3
    Yes, it came with my Dell PC but it is just the OS no drivers or anything. there is another disc with the software and drivers on it.... Does that make a difference?
     
  4. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #4
    I don't think you can use that disc; it was meant for the Dell, and it won't install on anything else (Mac or PC) but that particular Dell.
     
  5. not1lost thread starter macrumors member

    not1lost

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Location:
    Paragould Arkansas, when I'm not in my RV
    #5
    would it hurt anything to try to install it? doesn't say dell on it?
     
  6. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #6
    Nope. You can try it and it won't hurt anything.
     
  7. not1lost thread starter macrumors member

    not1lost

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Location:
    Paragould Arkansas, when I'm not in my RV
    #7
    I guess it will just tell me it can't if it won't ???
     
  8. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #8
    Yep. I think it will tell you to insert your Windows 7 disc to continue.
     
  9. not1lost thread starter macrumors member

    not1lost

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Location:
    Paragould Arkansas, when I'm not in my RV
    #9
    Thanks a bunch for your help! :)
     

Share This Page