Currently running 10.3.9, need to go to 10.4.9

Discussion in 'macOS' started by RDM, Nov 11, 2009.

  1. RDM macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    #1
    Hey guys, quick and easy question, I'm adding iTunes and need to update the 10.4.9 to run it, I'm currently on 10.3.9. I do NOT use my Mac for anything heavy, surfing the web is all it ever does, so I don't need anything massive to download or upgrade to, I don't even watch vids or movies, so please don't suggest a full system upgrade or a jump to 10.6 or whatever is currently the newest platform. I just want to use iTunes to burn my CDs so I can throw them away once and for all.

    So, what's the easiest/cheapest way to DL 10.4.9 to a 10.3.9 existing unit? And be gentle too, I'm computer illiterate.
     
  2. Eric S. macrumors 68040

    Eric S.

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Mountains, California
    #2
    Going from 10.3.9 to 10.4 is a full system upgrade. If you want to be legal you have to buy it. You can check on eBay for Tiger deals, but make sure you look for a full retail version, not an install disc for a particular Mac model (or if it is, make sure it's for your Mac model).

    Or you can try one of the sources listed here:
    http://lowendmac.com/deals/best-mac-os-x-tiger-prices.html

    After you install 10.4, run Software Update to bring it up to 10.4.11 (or download the 10.4.11 update from Apple's site).
     
  3. cjmillsnun macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #3
    Mac OS X 10.4 Tiger is no longer available new.

    Downloading it would be illegal. However it does appear boxed on eBay occasionally.

    Any Retail version of Max OS X 10.4.x would be fine to buy as they would all upgrade to 10.4.11 for free. (Don't buy restore disks they won't work)

    Be aware that you are going to have to pay roughly $90 as it seems to be getting a premium price.

    Also make sure your Mac is capable of running Tiger.

    Your processor is probably going to be either a G3, G4 or G5 and at least 256mb of RAM preferably 512mb (check by selecting About my Mac from the :apple: menu) and you need sufficient hard drive space, from the finder, use the go menu, then utilities, then disk utility. Check the hard drive is over 10gb.

    Lastly for Tiger, your mac needs a FireWire port. They look like the picture below.
    [​IMG]
     
  4. RDM thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    #4
    All I needed to hear. My Mac is a PowerMac G4 Quicksilver 2002 model, mirrored doors, 1GHz, 1.5GB RAM. It has two firewire ports on the back.

    So, just find the software, load it, and go? Nothing else crucial to worry about?
     
  5. J the Ninja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #5
    Yeah. You could install Leopard instead if you feel like it, though. You may be able to find it cheaper too.
     
  6. Eric S. macrumors 68040

    Eric S.

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Mountains, California
    #6
    Just be aware that if you need Classic mode for anything, Leopard doesn't support it. Also Leopard has video card requirements if you want to run Time Machine (very nice backup application) or a couple of other apps.

    The upside is that Leopard has more features and will be supported longer with security updates.
     
  7. ianjoh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    #7
    A PowerMac G4 Quicksilver?!
    That's exactly what I'm using!

    Don't try to upgrade to Leopard;
    a G4 doesn't have what it takes to run OS 10.5.
    Stick at 10.4.x
     
  8. Eric S. macrumors 68040

    Eric S.

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Mountains, California
    #8
    It depends on what you use it for. I run Leopard on my Sawtooth and it's perfectly fine for what I do.
     
  9. cjmillsnun macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #9
    My Quicksilver is running Leopard quite happily :) The OP's won't need the hack mine needed to get it to install as the 2002 Quicksilver base model was within the minimum specs for Leopard.

    The Graphics card in my quicksilver is fine with TM (GeForce 2MX).
     
  10. wallaby macrumors 6502

    wallaby

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Location:
    Iowa
    #10
    Another idea: stick with your previous version of iTunes? Unless you really need the iTunes store, there's not a whole lot in newer versions that's worth upgrading to (for someone who's not used to it, anyway).
     
  11. Eric S. macrumors 68040

    Eric S.

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Mountains, California
    #11
    Well that's true. I'm not sure the OP has iTunes (he says he's adding it), but if not, iTunes 7.6.2 for Mac OS X 10.3.9 is available here:

    http://support.apple.com/kb/DL92
     

Share This Page