Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

rizin

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 27, 2007
I am a graphic arts student. I also play games occasionally (mostly WoW when I have time). Currently, I have a 14" G4 ibook w/ 1G ram. I don't normally play the game on my laptop b/c its pretty crappy. Usuallly, I use my bf desktop pc. I do, however, use my laptop for school. I'm running Photoshop, Illustrator, and InDesign for most of my projects. I've been thinking about getting a new computer that will handle graphics better. I'm on a budget right now so my options seem to be 1) purchase a new mac mini (1.66 or 1.83) or 2) have my bf build me a custom pc.

My question is which would be a better path? Custom PC or Mac Mini? Also, if I were to go w/ the mac, what sort of difference is the processor going to make in running my graphics programs better?

gauchogolfer

macrumors 603
Jan 28, 2005
American Riviera
Well, as I'm sure you're well aware, you could likely build a pc yourself for less than the cost of a new Mac mini (or at least get more performance at the same price point). However, since you say you're using Indesign, Photoshop, Illustrator, etc. on your iBook, don't forget to factor in the cost of buying PC versions of these if you choose to go that route.

If you're currently using a G4 iBook I'd expect you'd be pleasantly surprised with the increase in speed you'd get with a Mac mini.

Erendiox

macrumors 6502a
Oct 15, 2004
Brooklyn NY