Custom resolution in Diablo III? (i.e. can I force 1440x900?)

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Jimbogiant, Jun 17, 2012.

  1. Jimbogiant macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    #1
    Hey all,

    I have an early 2011 MBP 15" with the hi-res/AG screen. The native res is 1680x1050, and while Diablo 3 runs alright at that res, I'd much prefer to kick some settings down and get a solid 60 FPS vsync. Unfortunately, the next-highest 16:10 (fullscreen) res available is 1280x800 -- there is no option to go to 1440x900, which would be ideal. Has anyone found a workaround for this? Can I somehow force the 1440x900 res?

    I've tried it on the 1280x800, and while I get the FPS I'm looking for, it does look WAY worse than the native res. 1280x800 gets me 100+ FPS, and i'm hovering around 45-50 FPS on 1680x1050, so I would assume that 1440x900 would be the sweet spot I'm looking for. Any help and advice would be appreciated, thanks!

    James
     
  2. The-Pro, Jun 17, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2012

    The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #2
    1440 x 900 wouldn't be available on any game if you have the 1680 x 1050 screen but the next under 1680 x 1050 should be 1440 x 852 or 856. It's weird though because I have played over 15 different games on my hi-res AG MBP and they all had 1440 x 852 or 856 available.
    Cant help you sorry, I dont have Diablo 3 to test it.
    What you could try however is to set your system to the preferred resolution and see if the game then runs at the same resolution.
     
  3. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #3
    probably not... i have a 1920x1200 screen and it cannot run 1440x900 either. I wrote my own res switching app to actually try it and it just cannot, but 1680x1050 runs ok.
     
  4. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #4
  5. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #5
    you can have a copy of the thing I threw together if you want. I made a command line utility for changing resolutions a long time ago for older versions of Wineskin. I just pulled that out and made a really quick Applescript GUI front end.

    https://dl.dropbox.com/u/4486028/Change%20Resolution.app.zip

    its self explanatory... it doesn't probe your hardware, you just type in the resolution you want to change to, and it goes to whatever is the closest resolution it can get rounding up only, not down.
     
  6. Jimbogiant thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    #6
    Thanks for all the replies- I should have specified in my original post, I am running D3 in Boot Camp so unfortunately the OS X utilities won't work for me. I am running the WHQL 12.4 drivers- would that affect which resolutions I am able to select? I don't have any 1440x856 or similar options, just 1680x1050 and the next one is 1440x1050, and it won't stretch to full screen (I get black space on either side)
     
  7. Jimbogiant thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    #7
    Hey all,

    If anyone is curious, I actually just found a perfect fix for my problem. It's a little registry hack that allows you to add to your "non-standard" (i.e. non-native) resolution choices in Windows (and by extension, all Windows games).

    Here it is:

    Just add a line to one of the DALNonStandardModesBCD lines within the following path.

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Video\{28EB637D-0B05-40E2-9B10-67836FF468A5}\0000]


    (The big number at the end before the 4 zero's is random but you should be able to find yours, if you have installed multiple versions of catalysts you will have loads of different ones so make sure you modify the correct one by looking in your catalyst control panel at the "2d driver file path" entry within "information center").

    For example I have just edited the DALNonStandardModesBCD1 entry to look like the following example which added 1280x900 at 60hz.

    07,20,04,80,00,00,00,60,
    07,20,04,80,00,00,00,75,
    07,20,04,80,00,00,00,85,
    07,20,05,76,00,00,00,00,
    08,48,04,80,00,00,00,60,
    08,48,04,80,00,00,00,75,
    08,48,04,80,00,00,00,85,
    12,80,07,20,00,00,00,60,
    12,80,09,00,00,00,00,60

    Source : http://community.futuremark.com/for...resolutions-on-ATI-without-3rd-party-programs

    So I made a 1440x900 at 60 Hz entry, and voila- Diablo III gives me a 1440x900 at 16:10 widescreen option. Works great, and now I get vsync (I also have my 6750m OC'd at 775/875 @ .955 volts). Thanks again for your help guys!

    James
     

Share This Page