Custom Ringtone Problem with 3GS and/or OS 3.0?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by stevebook, Jun 19, 2009.

  1. stevebook macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    #1
    Is anyone else having problems getting their custom ringtones that play find in iTunes to work on the phone? They all come up on my iPhone 3GS but almost none of them will play when clicked on or when the phone is called.
     
  2. justinluey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #2
    Same problem here. I have different ringtones set for different people in my contact list but I always get the default ringtone.

    This feature work perfectly on my iPhone 3G, so I'm not sure if the problem is with the 3.0 firmware or the 3GS.
     
  3. sonictonic macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Location:
    Central Coast, California
    #3
    Are they "hacked" ringtones or did you buy them via iTunes? I'm using a special ringtone via iTunes on my 3GS and it works perfectly, but I haven't set different rings for different contacts. Some time ago I heard of a bug where mobile me would continually overwrite that setting anyway and put everyone on whatever your default ringtone was set on. Does anyone know if that issue has been fixed yet?
     
  4. stevebook thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    #4
    Yeah they are what you would call "hacked" ringtones. Songs converted to M4A and then renamed to M4R and then imported to iTunes. It's weird though because I have like 10 on the phone and two of them will work.
     
  5. TroyBoy30 macrumors 68020

    TroyBoy30

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta GA
    #5
    I did mine the same way as you and they all work
     
  6. Carsonsig macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    #6
    I am having the same issue

    I make the ringtones with the workaround.. they show in itunes as ringtones, show in the sync, show in the ringtone list in custom in the iphone 3gs.... but when you call the phone.. default...

    any ideas?
     
  7. jdavid8 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    #7
    When you go into your contacts press the groups button at the upper left corner of screen and make sure you select the "From My Mac" section and not from the ".Mac" section. Then go to the contact and assign ringtone. I had same problem and when I went to the contact it was assigned the default ringtone.
     
  8. Acronym macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    #8
    All my ringtones are custom made, by myself or others. Only one has problems playing and that's an error on my part.

    Some ideas that might help

    1) make sure they are not in a zip folder when adding them to iTunes extract them first (if there zipped)

    2) add then to iTunes first before you add them to your iPhone adding directly to your iPhone seems to cause problems

    3) make sure they have no other information in the info tab of the ringtone properties, as this will also cause problems.

    4) try manually adding them to your iPhone from iTunes (not directly from the folder they are in) as apposed to syncing them over using iTunes.

    Try creating a new ringtone and following the above advice to see if the old ringtones somehow got corrupted (a stretch I know but never the less a possibility).

    Any ringtone over 40 seconds will usualy not show up in your list of ringtones.

    Hope this helps you people with tour ringtone problem
     

Share This Page