Custom ringtones in Facetime (Yosemite)

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by dwfaust, Sep 3, 2014.

  1. dwfaust macrumors 68040

    dwfaust

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    I am here => [•]
    #1
    Now that Yosemite and iOS 8 are bringing us continuity and handoff, Apple has also given us another problem.

    If I get a phone call on my iPhone, I hear a custom ringtone - both the custom "default" ringtone, and custom specific ringtones for individual contacts. However, Facetime (and Facetime Audio) have their own set of ringtones, and no way to add custom ringtones (at least not as far as I have seen).

    So now when I get a call, my iPhone sounds the custom ringtone and my rMBP plays another.

    Has anyone discovered how to change the ringtones in Yosemite to allow custom ringtones for phone calls?
     
  2. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    No, I can't seem to set a ringtone. Heck Apple still hasn't made a on-screen keypad!

    At least the compute recognized keyboard entries, but it's a hassle when my Apple keyboards don't have numpads.
     
  3. dwfaust thread starter macrumors 68040

    dwfaust

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    I am here => [•]
    #3
  4. roland.g macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #4
    Does anyone know if you are already on a call on your iPhone how to handoff the call to your Mac and vice versa if you are using your Mac for a call and need to leave how to send it back to the phone?
     
  5. deviant macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #5
    if you're talking on a mac and need to go you click the green bar on iPhone and the call transfers to iPhone. i believe you can't do the same vice versa though
     
  6. roland.g macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #6
    That's a shame. Sometimes you answer the call instinctively on the phone or don't have time to get it answered on the computer. But you still want the call through there.
     
  7. deviant macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #7
    feedback to apple ;)
     
  8. acblue94 macrumors regular

    acblue94

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    New York, NY.
    #8
    Bump. I want to have the same ringtone constant through all devices.
     
  9. GrumpyTrucker macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    #9
    The thing is, this is possible through Bluetooth - my car rings with my phone's ringtone whatever that may be so it should be easy to set it to "same as phone". But, Apple and Bluetooth have a rocky relationship at best I guess.
     
  10. simon48 macrumors 65816

    simon48

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #10
    I really want what the OP has said, using the custom ringtones that I have set for individual contacts on my iPhone, changing "default" ringtone and I would really like a silent or no ringtone setting.
     
  11. HowieIsaacks macrumors member

    HowieIsaacks

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Location:
    Addison, TX
    #11
    You can find the ringtones here:
    /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/ToneLibrary.framework/Versions/A/Resources/Ringtones/
     
  12. Merkyworks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #12
    I can get calls to handoff from my phone to my MBP but the custom ringtone that plays on my phone doesn't play on the MBP, the default ring is what plays on the MBP.

    I have custom ringtones on my MBP and I sync them with my iPhone via iTunes. In contacts on my iPhone I then setup custom ringtones for certain people, contacts are sync'd via icloud with my MBP. So why is it that when I look at the contacts on my MBP it shows the ringtone for contacts as default and not the custom one I have seton my iPhone?
     
  13. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #13
    Or you could just type the numbers you want on the Mac keyboard....they work fine without a GUI keypad.
     
  14. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #14
    I would like that as well. Unfortunately, I don't think it is possible with the current setup.
     
  15. simonsi, Oct 24, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2014

    simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #15
    How to set a custom FaceTime Ringtone...

    Ok, I have got my MBP FaceTime to play a custom ringtone as on my iPhone. There are a couple of big limitations though:

    It plays a ringtone set in FaceTime on the MBP, it is NOT inheriting the ringtone from the iPhone or playing the ringtone audio from the iPhone - so if you have many different ringtones on your iPhone this isn't a workable method but if you just want the same distinctive tone via your MBP FaceTime then it works.

    You have to re-use the audio file for one of the standard ringtones in FaceTime, e.g. I substituted my file for the Harp standard.

    How-to:

    1. Obtain your ringtone, I used a purchased Hawaii 5-0 theme tune, it came in .mp3
    2. Convert it to an "apple ringtone" format, I used Music Converter Pro to do it, that gives you a .m4r file
    3. Save the file as Harp.m4r
    4. Copy the file to /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/ToneLibrary.framework/Versions/A/Resources/Ringtones/
    5. Go to FaceTime, in Preferences select the Classic/Harp ringtone and you should hear your custom tone play

    There is probably a way to add a new ringtone rather than have to replace an existing one, and it will be easily overwritten by an update or re-install as a result.

    Apple's statement here: https://www.apple.com/osx/continuity/

    "You’ll also hear a ringtone — the same ringtone you have for that person on your iPhone"

    At the moment I think refers if your contacts are synced between the iPhone and MBP, then FaceTime will use the same standard ringtone as the iPhone uses, they haven't AFAIK given us a method for custom ringtones to sync or be used by FaceTime on the Mac....

    Edit: Just found I'm not the first to find this method but it seems no-one has got a custom file recognised by FaceTime yet...
     
  16. jacobg550 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    #16
    custom ringtone yosemite

    Ok so i was playing round with this my self and if you navigate to /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/ToneLibrary.framework/Versions/A/Resources/Ringtones/
    (cmd, shift g in finder) and paste a ringtone (convert to AAC using itines and change extension to .m4r) and paste the ringtone. It wouldn't show up in feature setting but if you pick one you done like, delete it and rename your ringtone with the same name (I used Apex) it should work perfectly.

    Hope this helps someone
     
  17. jennyp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #17
    Don't you just set the ringtone in the Contacts app? Contact > Ringtone - and choose from the list ?
     
  18. chakrilogin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    #18
    simonsi's method works perfectly

    Finally my mac and iPhone are at peace with each other. Thanks to simonsi and jacobg550.

    Cheers!!
     
  19. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #19
    Yes but if you have installed a custom ringtone on your phone via iTunes that isnt in the list in Facetime on your Mac...
     
  20. jennyp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #20
    Well maybe you could just put your custom ringtones into that folder in the correct format. But I haven't tried it yet so I don't know if it would actually recognise and play them..
     
  21. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #21
    Yeah....if you read the posts you will see that doesn't work....:rolleyes:
     
  22. jennyp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #22
    If you have the same ringtones set to the same contacts on both types of device, it does work. It doesn't sync, but it works. :rolleyes:
     
  23. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #23
    Yes, we know that, this is for a custom ringtone (i.e. not a standard ringtone)

    Note the thread title.
     
  24. jennyp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #24
    And I meant just place your custom ringtone in the Mac ringtone folder, and select that for your contact.
     
  25. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #25
    Post #21 "it doesn't work" - unless you have actually tried it and found a way, in which case please share?

    You firmly stated it does work (although appeared to be referring to the standard tones), at this time no-one on this thread has found a way to load a custom tone except by naming the file to match one in the standard list.
     

Share This Page