Custom Ringtones Showing Up As Duplicates

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by dupdup, Jan 26, 2008.

  1. dupdup macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #1
    When I copy ringtones over to my iphone it seems to just allow me to have one distinct custom ringtone. What I'm seeing in ITunes is 3 distinct ringtones, on the phone I see three lines of custom ringtones but they are all the last ringtone I copied over, in name and actual ringtone. Anybody know what is going on here? I've tried the actual sync setup and just dragging and dropping over.

    Thanks
     
  2. rblack macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #2
    I had the same problem

    Hey, I'm new to the forums but I had this same exact problem last week. I got my iPhone right after Macworld and immediately upgraded to 1.1.3. I bought three ringtones from the iTunes store and put them on my phone where they showed up as the same ringtone three times. They even all played the same song-the one titled. So after i disconnected and resynced (sp?) and deleted them and put them back on, it still showed up as three of the same ringtones. I called Apple who after a bit put me on the line with a "product specialist" He told me to do all the things I already tried and then said that they had never received this problem before and that I might have to be passed on to an Apple Engineer. But, the last thing he suggested before that was to restore all settings and essentially wipe my iPhone back to it's factory setting, getting rid of everything i had put on it. I did this and made sure to set it up as a new iPhone instead of the previously saved settings. After this, the ringtones worked!

    However, since then I have tried to put more on and alas, the same problem has occurred again. however, the three original ones that i had trouble with are perfectly fine. it's the next two that I try to put on that appear as the same song. I really don't want to have to restore my phone every time i want to put a ringtone on it so I gave up.

    I know that totally restoring it works, but it's not worth it to do it every time. If anyone else has had this problem and has totally fixed it please let me know.
     
  3. dupdup thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #3
    Well I think I found the answer. You can't manually manage ringtones OR songs if you have this problem. I checked to auto sync ringtones and did not have success. So I added songs to be auto synced (based on that weird warning that it gives you when you auto sync ringtones) and it worked fine. So I now have one playlist for all my music that I have set up to be auto synced. I now see distinct ringtones and songs sync fine too.
     
  4. bjsmith macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #4
    Custom Ringtones Showing Up as Duplicates

    I'm having the same problem . . . and I'm not willing to restore my iPod every time I want a new ringtone.

    The frustrating thing is that I've set my ringtones to sync, rather than manual management, I've selected one ringtone that I want, and I still see the original five from my iTunes that I had tried to copy over. Three of them are duplicates, the other two are unique.

    I then deselected all ringtones in my sync options, and when I look at my device in iTunes in the ringtones folder, none appear. But in Settings > Sounds > Ringtone, the same selection appears (three duplicates, two distinct). How can I get rid of these without restoring the iPod??
     
  5. Gabatronic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #5
    Same Problem Here

    Hi, I have the same problem but starting in a different way. I create ringtones from GarageBand, 4 of them, and they all are ok in Itunes. Then I sync them, in all the automatic and manual ways, and everytime the iphone just shows only one track name repeated 4 times and when played they are all the same one.
    When I play them from itunes I see the four different names and they sound each one like it should. But from the Iphone there is no way.
    One way around is to copy them manually to the ringtones folder accessing Iphone directly, it works ok this way, but the ringtones appear in the same list as all ringtones (standard), instead that in the Custom one.
     
  6. rblack macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #6
    Hey Gabatronic, could you explain the method that works a little better? If i'm reading it right, you should be able to move the actual ringtone file from the finder window into a finder window for the iPhone. If this is true, how do I open a finder window for the actual iPhone. it seems like this process would skip iTunes all together which might work but I just can't find where to access the files and folders for the iPhone without going through iTunes. Let me know.
     
  7. aphexacid macrumors 6502a

    aphexacid

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #7
    Im betting he has a jailbroken iphone.

    The reason for this problem comes from setting itunes to manually manage music, rather than syncing. when you do this, it jacks up ringtone transfer. I would think that this is a bug, hopefully it gets fixed.
     
  8. kevinliu4 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #8
    I also have the same problem. Apple telling you they have never heard of this problem is absolute bs. It's so wide spread.

    I have tried all the suggestions posted but none of them work for me. Each one is so convoluted anyway...I'll live with it until Apple fixes this properly.
     
  9. iSimon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #9
    If you are using iTunes then check the ringtone file (Get Info) and ensure there are no entries besides the actual name (not even genre). Having additional info can cause the multiple entries issue I believe.
     
  10. nigelquest macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #10
    This worked for me. Thank you so much! This was driuving me crazy lol.
     
  11. Gabatronic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #11
    The complete solution

    Hi, after trying different things mentioned here I come to the solution.
    There are two important things that must be done:
    1. Sync must be in automatic. If it´s in manual names are the same.
    2. Ringtones must not have any other info than the name. (No artist, no grouping, no anything)
    After doing this everything seems to work fine!

    Thanks for the other posts, mixing stuff from each other was the way to get to the solution! Happy ringing!
     
  12. nigelquest macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #12
    I didnt autosync. I pulled mine over manually and it worked fine after I took all the addtional tag info out.
     
  13. FoxyApple macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA
    #13
    well i took all the tag info out and it still didnt work.


    sigh

    any suggestions?

    i tried auto sync

    manually pulling em
     
  14. nickXedge macrumors 6502

    nickXedge

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Long Island
    #14
    This was my fix as well. To reiterate, I deleted every single piece of information except for the track name, and then I created a playlist with all the music I want on my iPhone. Then I set it to automatically sync my music and videos, and selected all ringtones and my iPhone playlist. This ended 2 hours of frustration. Thanks go to everyone with input!
     
  15. 1QWIK7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    #15
    Wait, which boxes did you guys check off?

    I have 3 options

    Automatically sync when iphone is connected

    Sync only checked songs and videos

    Manually manage music and videos


    If i click on automatically sync, everytime i plug my phone to my computer, it will sync everything in i-tunes. Even if the boxes arent checked off.

    Someone please help. Thanks
     
  16. Acronym macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    #16
    the problem is caused by having any information on the ringtone (excluding the name) delete any artist info or release date etc. it should get rid of the copies
     
  17. 1QWIK7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    #17
    Cleared everything (except actual name) and still no go.


    Right now i have these checked off on itunes.

    Sync only checked songs and videos

    Manually manage music and videos
     
  18. silbeej macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    #18
    Just put them in the ringtone folder under iTunes and double click and they open up. Thats what i've been doing and it hasn't been an issue.
     
  19. 1QWIK7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    #19

    If i double click them, they will just play in itunes.

    If i have my phone plugged and drag them into ringtones (in my iphone), i still get the same problem.

    Can you give me a step by step of how to do this?

    Like maybe set up all ringtones, then connect cable to phone?

    Sorry for the newb question.
     
  20. 1QWIK7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    #20
    Damn still cant get this to work. Im going crazy here lol
     
  21. Acronym macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    #21
    ok so imnport them into itunes and from itunes manualy drag them over from itunes side of ringtones to your iphone our just auto sync the ones ou want, as i forgot to mention in my previous post i had a problem with dupliacte ringtones while trying to add them from outside of itunes adding them from itunes seemed to have fixed this problem as well.
     
  22. webratss macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    #22
    I finally got around it

    This was also driving me nuts. Here was the solution that worked for me.

    1. Uncheck "Manually Manage..." (before doing this I created a playlist for the music I wanted on my iPhone and checked this list in the Music tab.)

    2. Check "Only sync checked songs and videos"

    3. On the Ringtones tab, uncheck all of my ringtones and sync so that I have a clean slate.

    4. Recheck the ringtones you want and sync again.

    This seems to work. I can't believe such a frustrating problem has evaded the Apple engineers for so long. I prefer managing my music manually but managing that one playlist is basically the same thing (not quite).

    Good luck.
     
  23. nopassn macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #23
    I took all info but the track names out. set to sync ringtones... and it worked - too bad all my music is gone (where's the mushroom cloud emoticon?!)

    I've still got all the music, it's just a MASSIVE pain in the @ss to reload it all. GRRRR.
     
  24. xiaphin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    #24
    problem fixed

    I had this problem some time ago but overcame it. I forgot how I did it but after restoring my phone earlier this week the problem happened again. This is how I fixed the duplicate problem.

    Only thing that fixed the duplicate problem was making sure that the custom ringtones are in the ringtone library prior to putting them on the phone. If you drag and drop items straight onto your iphone or ipod, like I do, you probably didnt bother putting them in the library either. Dragging them straight onto the phone, whether separate or in multiples, will give duplicates. No auto sync of music is necessary, nor is the manipulating of the meta tags. Hope this helps. My iphone is not jailbroken and is not a 3g.
     

Share This Page