Customize not working

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by SKANLEZ, Feb 21, 2008.

  1. SKANLEZ macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    #1
    I downloaded Customize and when I open it all it shows is the little chicken and thespicychicken.com and that's it then goes back to the today screen. What is going on?
     
  2. ajl917 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    #2
    Well it is gonna crash a few times, but it should work after that. But if you downloaded the normal version, the changes most likely wont show up anyway. So uninstall that version of Customize, add this source: http://www.touchrepo.com/repo.xml, then install that version of Customize. Everything should work except the carrier logo...
     
  3. SKANLEZ thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    #3
    I feel so stupid, just found it on the bottom right corner on the install 3.0. Going to try it now, thanks.
     
  4. SKANLEZ thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    #4
    Okay, I uninstalled Customize and added the source code. Then when going back to install it another Customize came up but when clicking to install it a warning came up saying that it is from a untrusted sourse. I know I don't download the Customize (old)?
     
  5. ajl917 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    #5
    Yeah anytime you add a source that isnt "trusted", it will have that message. It is very trustworthy because everyone on 1.1.3 uses this method, and no one has had any problems. And dont download Customize (Old), its not compatible with 1.1.3.
     
  6. Ronnoco macrumors 68030

    Ronnoco

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    United States of America
    #6
    ok...I have the customize that works with 1.1.3 now and it shows up fine and seems to work, but whenever I change the order of the icons or the dock it doesn't save the changes and everything just stays where it was...:confused:
     
  7. ajl917 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    #7
    Yeah with Customize on 1.1.3, of course you cant change the icon order with that, use the jiggly icons...
     
  8. rjdeathe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #8
    I've added that source as explained then when i try to redownload customize it says theres a 'error - main script execution failed'

    any help?

    rjdeathe
     
  9. Ronnoco macrumors 68030

    Ronnoco

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    United States of America
    #9
    Thanks aj...I pretty much just used Customize to give me the 5 icons in the dock...doesn't seem to work for that either...
     
  10. ajl917 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    #10
    Yeah, the iPhone dosent use the M68AP.plist anymore for icon order, so now more 5 icon docks...
     
  11. Ronnoco macrumors 68030

    Ronnoco

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    United States of America
    #11
    :mad:
     
  12. SKANLEZ thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    #12
    Downloaded the Customize and now it work's. Thank's a bunch guys!
     
  13. kashmoney2006 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    #13
    so using 1.1.3, i cannot have more than 4 icons in my dock?
     
  14. ajl917 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    #14
    Correct...
     
  15. rjdeathe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #15
    why after adding the source listed above can I no longer download customize?
     
  16. ajl917 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    #16
    Huh?
     
  17. rjdeathe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #17
    When I try and download customize it downloads then starts to install but comes up with - main script error, or something along those lines. If you look up through this thread you'll see I've posted the exact message it displays.

    Rjdeathe
     
  18. ajl917 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    #18
    Well as long as you downloaded the actual Customize and uninstalled it, you should just be able to manually install the folder below, and you should be good to go as long as you set permissions.

    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=R4MHYV01
     
  19. rjdeathe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
  20. ajl917 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    #20
    Yeah..
     
  21. rjdeathe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #21
    Hey sorry I'm new to all this. How do I install the program on to my iPhone once I've downloaded it on to my laptop?

    many thanks

    rjdeathe
     
  22. kashmoney2006 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    #22
    using ssh, copy the "application_name.app" folder into your /Applications/ directory on your phone.
     
  23. rjdeathe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #23
    ssh?

    I'm sorry you have to explain everything from the begining! I'm new to all this so far I have iJailbreak and installer on my iPhone

    rjdeathe
     
  24. ajl917 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    #24
    Here is a tutorial that I made, if you follow it, you should be good to go.

    You will have to download the app from its respective page. Next, you will need to use your filebrowsing system up and running, WinSCP for Windows or CyberDuck for Mac. Remember you need to have BSD Subsystem and OpenSSH insatlled.
    To set up WinSCP: http://modmyifone.com/wiki/index.php/SSH_on_Windows
    To set up CyberDuck (Steps 4-6): http://www.iphonealley.com/forums/showthread.php?t=743

    Next, go to your applications folder, you should see all the apps you have installed including SMS, Stocks etc. Then, make a folder called AppName.app. After you make the folder, put every file you downloaded into there, then highlight them all, then make the properties or permissions 0755. After you are done with that, reboot your phone and you should be good to go. If you have any more problems/questions, feel free to ask.

    -Andrew
     
  25. rjdeathe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #25
    Hi Andrew

    Right I've downloaded cyberduck on to my powerbook and I've installed openSSH and BSD Subsystem on to my iPhone (not that either show up anywhere?).

    Now what do i do?
     

Share This Page