Cut paste

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by darksiders, Oct 5, 2012.

  1. darksiders macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    #1
    hi guyz i just bought mac book pro .... i hv an issue im trying cut an thing but tht isnt happening....plz help me i also chk in edit option but there is cut option but i cannot click it.......is there any prblm plz help me....
     
  2. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #2
    Copy, Cut & Paste doesn't work quite the same way as it does on Windows.

    Here are a couple of links to pages with lists of keyboard shorcuts or special programs that add that functionality, and some cost money to get.

     
  3. darksiders thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    #3
    thnks bro....plz tell me what is option button where it is.... i just read tht in lion i can cut by cmnd+option+v.... would u help me?
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    OPTION is located between CMD and CTRL and sometimes referred to as ALT.
    Mac OS X keyboard shortcuts
     
  5. darksiders thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    #5
    thnks....i hv another question:eek: sorry im disturbing u...:eek:.... I hv bought second hand macbook so when i bought he already did a partition so i want to reduce main drive size i mean where mac osx is installed so im doing reducing it frm system prefences but tht drive isnt reducing plz help me .....i will very thnkful..
     
  6. r0k macrumors 68040

    r0k

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Detroit
    #6
    Resizing a drive is done in disk utility. Go to Spotlight (magnifying glass at upper right of screen). Type disk ut and by the time you hit t, Disk Utility should already be highlighted in the search results. Click on it and you will see macintosh hd show up as one of the drives you can work with. Be careful. From Disk Utility, it is possible to do a lot of damage so be careful and take your time.

    I'm curious, why are you resizing a partition? If you want to run windows in parallels, you do realize that can be done without a separate windows partition, don't you? Windows or Linux or whatever OS you want to tinker with can run out of a file on Macintosh HD. I normally keep one partition on my Macs.
     
  7. darksiders thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012

Share This Page