cyberduck and server problems 403 error

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by billaston, Mar 19, 2010.

1. billaston macrumors newbie

Hi Guys,
    I am trying to upload a website which I have designed using iWeb. I am using a hosting service to publish and am using cyberduck as my ftp program. I have successfully loaded my site onto cyberduck but when I go to my domain name the page just displays
    Server Error
    403 - Forbidden: Access is denied.
    You do not have permission to view this directory or page using the credentials that you supplied.
    Does anyone have any idea what is going wrong.
    I suspect it may be due to my htdoc on the cyberduck not having my homepage as index but I have no idea how to change this.
    I am completely new to this and not massively computer literate so if you can keep answers in as plain english as possible it would be appreciated!
    Many thanks
    Bill

2. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

angelwatt

iWeb creates a index.html file for you that redirects to your created home page. Do a visual check to make sure it got uploaded.

3. billaston thread starter macrumors newbie

thanks for getting back so promptly!
    Don't like sounding stupid but how do i do that!

4. billaston thread starter macrumors newbie

I cant see it on the files in cyberduck anywhere, there is an index.tiff and index.xml.gz in the cyberduck files

5. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

angelwatt

You look in Cyberduck the same way you look in Finder. It would just be inside that htdocs folder. You may want to do a Publish to Folder from iWeb and make sure you have all the files, then upload everything it publishes.

6. billaston thread starter macrumors newbie

Just published to local file and all seems to be in order! How do i now upload everything it has published?

7. billaston thread starter macrumors newbie

Ok>