Cyberduck does not connect

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by glassmen07, Feb 17, 2009.

  1. glassmen07 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #1
    I searched for this but couldn't come up with the exact same problem.
    I am recently new to the whole ftp thing and web design. I just made a simple thing on iWeb 08 and wanted to use cyberduck to upload it. I bought my domain from GoDaddy.com and I don't like having all those ugly ads on there.

    Anyways, I click Open Connection on Cyberduck:
    I enter the domain name.com for the server (correct?)
    then my log in information from godaddy
    then connect.

    I'm pretty sure that is what I am supposed to do, someone correct me if I am wrong. But I always get a Login Failed notice. I'm on my school's network too if that plays a roll in any of this.

    Thanks if anyone can help
     
  2. ChicoWeb macrumors 65816

    ChicoWeb

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Location:
    California
  3. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    Your school may have a firewall in place that requires an extra bit of setup to get through it. Ask the school techs about it. They may also have other ideas.
     
  4. SrWebDeveloper macrumors 68000

    SrWebDeveloper

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA, USA
    #4
    Just use cyberduck tape. It'll fix anything.

    ;)

    ps: I coulda said "If you can't duck it, then...." well you know the rest...

    -jim
     
  5. LEE685 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #5
    I'm having the exact same problem. I checked to see if there were any firewalls enabled and there aren't. Does anyone have any other solutions? Besides calling tech support, that is, because I'm posting this to avoid that.


    I also just realized how old this post is, so I hope someone sees it.
     
  6. iMurali macrumors newbie

    iMurali

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    India
    #6
  7. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #7
    You have a domain name. Sounds like you need to find yourself a web host to actually host the files for you.

    Site5 and A Small Orange are pretty good (I was with Site5 for three years or so until I had to move my sites to a UK based host for other reasons).
     

Share This Page