Cyclists, I request your assistance!

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Abyssgh0st, Aug 27, 2011.

1. Abyssgh0st, Aug 27, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2011

Abyssgh0st macrumors 68000

Abyssgh0st

Hey everybody!

I am in the processing of looking for a bike and I am relatively uneducated to the industry so I'm sure some of you helpful people here on MR will be able to help.

Here is a quick rundown of my situation:
    1. I'm a college freshman who lives on a relatively large campus and most of my classes are anywhere from .75-1.5 miles away from where I live.
    2. Currently I have a hand-me-down Gary Fisher mountain bike. It's not a bad bike, but I find it's rather cumbersome and heavy for riding around campus, not to mention it's a little to big for me as my Dad is 2-3 inches taller than me.
    3. I'm basically dead set on a road bike with curved handlebars (not sure if there is a more technical name for them).
    4. I will be using this bike for exercising, somewhere between 3-10 miles on a regular basis.
    5. Looking to spend $300-500ish.

I went to my local bike store today and they sized me up and said a 54cm frame would be best, possibly even a 52 or 52.5. I've been looking at mostly Trek and some Specialized bikes (used for both) as they fit into my price range. Today at the bike store I tried some new 2012 Model Trek that was something like $650 before tax. I rode around on it and loved it, feels so different from any bike I've ridden before.

Basically what I'm asking is: Any brand recommendations or advice? Is buying a used model (some of the ones I'm seeing are from the 90s, and that sort of scares me- irrational?) really worth it for $200-300 less? Money isn't a huge factor but I don't want to spend a ton on this thing. I am just generally worried that some 1999 Trek for $300-400 is a silly purchase compared to a $600-700 brand new bike- but hey, I might be totally wrong.

Thanks!