General Cydia backgrounding

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by pod5g, May 19, 2013.

  1. pod5g, May 19, 2013
    Last edited: May 19, 2013

    pod5g macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    #1
    Is it dangerous to use Backgrounder or some other way to make Cydia background? I've seen many threads (both here and on other forums) about people doing this. Should I do it or not?

    Device- iPod touch 3G
    Firmware- 5.1.1
     
  2. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #2
    Why do you want to background Cydia? Just curious.
     
  3. pod5g thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    #3
    More than one reason. Sometimes I click on an ad by mistake. Opening Cydia again takes ages. Sometimes I press the home button by mistake. Have to open Cydia again, which is a chore.
     
  4. pickaxe macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    #4
    Don't use Backgrounder. Use the native iOS multitasking which for some reason isn't enabled by default for Cydia:
    1) Use iFile or whatever to go to /var/stash/Applications/Cydia.app/
    2) Edit Info.plist
    3) Change the flag UIApplicationExitsOnSuspend to false and save
    4) Close Cydia from the multitasking bar
    5) Enjoy!
     
  5. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #5
    There's a reason why it's disabled by default. If you looked inside the info.plist, you would see...

     
  6. pod5g thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    #6
    Thanks! I'll just leave Cydia the way it is. The iPod has only 256 MB of RAM to begin with.
     

Share This Page