Cydia cause springboard crash, every single time

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Wkraus94, Jul 6, 2009.

  1. Wkraus94 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #1
    So this is my first post on the site, unfortunately it's a help question. I promise I'll be more productive later haha.

    Anyways, currently I'm running on and iphone 3gs with the purplera1n jailbreak. Installation went fine, however now every time i download an app from cydia that needs a reboot or respring it tells me that my springboard has crashed upon login and the app doesn't work. So pretty much I have no capabilities whatsoever.

    any help would be appreciated :confused:
     
  2. crunkcrumpet macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    #2
    What apps did you install? Winterboard caused this to happen to me, I installed it without knowing (it came packaged with a ringtone pack..). Any more information would be appreciated :)
     
  3. Wkraus94 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #3
    well right now I have Fontswap, BossPrefs (this was actually in an attempt to fix the problem), and yes I also have winterboard.

    If I uninstall it, do you think it will help?
     
  4. nfl46 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #4
    Winterboard isn't working on the 3G S. He's planning to update it soon.

    So, uninstall it.
     
  5. crunkcrumpet macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    #5
    Yeah, uninstall winterboard for sure. I think it modifies or installs mobilesubstrate too, so uninstall that via Cydia. I did that and then my phone was working fine afterwards. :)
     
  6. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
  7. thuff59 macrumors member

    thuff59

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #7
    Same issue with iPhone going into safemode 3.0 firmware

    My iPhone 3Gs, iPhone 3G, and iPhone also crashes with the sad face on the lock screen when I installed the Lockdown tool from Cydia. When I removed tool, all worked fine. I am running the 3.0 firmware. I hope a fix comes out soon.
     

Share This Page