iPhone Cydia didn't install (wifi was off) - need to JB again?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by eoren1, Oct 3, 2012.

  1. eoren1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    #1
    I have a vanilla i4 running 5.1.1 that I just had unlocked by ATT. Figured I would JB it before selling. I just did this with another phone but, stupidly, forgot to put in wifi password before running the Redsnow JB program. All went well except I ended up with a white icon for Cydia.

    Question is what do I do now? Can/should I run the JB program again? If so, use the RAM DFU mode or the other one?

    Thanks
     
  2. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #2
    Everything worked ok otherwise? Turn your wifi on on your iPhone. After you're connected to the Internet you should still be able to run cydia. Or reboot the device then run cydia. Either way when you run cydia do not interrupt it. Cydia will set up the file system. The white icon is usually pretty common. If cydia doesn't open and run correctly where it sets up the file system then you should restore and rejailbreak. But the first time I jailbroke I also had a white cydia icon but everything was perfectly fine. It set up the file system. When I rebooted the normal cydia icon was there. Worst case you have to restore and rejailbreak.
     
  3. eoren1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    #3
    Thanks for the reply.
    I tried waiting after turning on wifi
    Rebooted
    Still had the white icon

    Restore is a no-go. This was a vanilla i4 without saved SHSH blobs...

    Can I just run the JB via Redsnow again?
     
  4. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
  5. eoren1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    #5
    yup
    Just a flash of something and then back to the home screen

    I just tried running Redsnow again in DFU mode and again have a blank cydia icon. I may try the backup/restore method next...
     
  6. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #6
    Are you positive the phone was on 5.1.1 and not 5.1

    Try doing a tethered reboot using Redsn0w, then try the Cydia app
     
  7. eoren1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007

Share This Page