Cydia disappeared on my 4s!!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by aliensarecool, Apr 14, 2012.

  1. aliensarecool macrumors 6502a

    aliensarecool

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    #1
    Wirelessly posted

    I still have stuff like sbsettings. What do I do
     
  2. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #2
    Do a spotlight search for Cydia
    Did you manipulate the version settings in the .plist ?
     
  3. aliensarecool thread starter macrumors 6502a

    aliensarecool

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    #3
    Wirelessly posted

    No I don't tikal so. And I don't see it there. Can I just run the JB again
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  5. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #5
    First of all, you cannot rerun the jailbreak to install Cydia.

    Secondly, do you have iFile, Terminal, or SSH installed on your phone? If you do, it will be easy to reinstall Cydia. If not it can still be done but will require more effort.
     
  6. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
  7. aliensarecool thread starter macrumors 6502a

    aliensarecool

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    #7
    yes i ifile, and ssh, not very good with em, but i got em!
     
  8. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #8
    Okay, then. It should be easy. Open this link in Mobile Safari on your phone. Click the "Open in iFile" button at the top of the screen. iFile will open and show a context menu. Choose "Installer." iFile will do the rest.
     
  9. Dkorda macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    #9
    Thanks, this is good to know.
     
  10. aliensarecool thread starter macrumors 6502a

    aliensarecool

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    #10
    will do in a couple minutes :)
     
  11. aliensarecool thread starter macrumors 6502a

    aliensarecool

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    #11
    it went to the download type screen after i hit installer and they said error at the bottom of that black screen of text...no cydia icon
     
  12. aliensarecool thread starter macrumors 6502a

    aliensarecool

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    #12
    okay i got the icon but as soon as i click it the screen flashes and it doesn't open.
     
  13. Minhimalism macrumors 65816

    Minhimalism

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Location:
    Texas
    #13
    Have you tried rebooting?
     
  14. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #14
    *sigh* You know they have "that black screen of text" for a reason, right? Usually it gives useful information about why there was an "error." I don't imagine you wrote down what it said?

    I would try rebooting, as Minhimalism says.

    If that doesn't work, try installing through SSH. Login through SSH and type the following commands at the prompt:

    Code:
    cd /var/mobile/Documents/
    login root [enter your password when prompted]
    dpkg -i cydia_1.1.6_iphoneos-arm.deb
    That should do it.
     
  15. aliensarecool thread starter macrumors 6502a

    aliensarecool

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    #15
    i have a backup i saved on my PC with the files 'etc' and 'var' does that help?
     
  16. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #16
    Did you do what I suggested in the last post?
     
  17. EngageWithRage macrumors 6502

    EngageWithRage

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    Your girlfriend's house
    #17
    You can try running this command in a Terminal,

    apt-get install Cydia

    Worked for me more than a few times
     
  18. aliensarecool thread starter macrumors 6502a

    aliensarecool

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    #18
    i'm not seeing where to type this in...i am using winscp
     
  19. aliensarecool thread starter macrumors 6502a

    aliensarecool

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    #19
    i take it that link that was originally posted was just a download link to cydia? i'm looking for another link for cydia for just the cydia file, but all i can find is the whole jailbreak file



    where is the cydia file located, i'd like to look thru a backup i did for my JB settings to see if i can replace it in my phone, or download it else where and place it in the right location
     
  20. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #20
    You need a command prompt. This is not a matter of replacing or moving files; you need to run unix commands on your phone to install software. Use MobileTerminal on your phone or PuTTY on Windows.
     
  21. darkpr1nce macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    #21
    Same problem!

    I Have the same problem, but I don't have iFile, Mobile Terminal, neither OpenSSH!!! PLEASE HELP ME GUYS!!! :(
     
  22. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #22
    Follow the instructions in this thread to install MobileTerminal and then install Cydia.
     
  23. darkpr1nce macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    #23
    Nike app and Stocks app are not opening, is there a way to reinstall them? I fckd up those... :(

    But I got Cydia working again.
     
  24. aliensarecool thread starter macrumors 6502a

    aliensarecool

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    #24
    Wirelessly posted

    When I get home im going to try to get cydia once and for all
     
  25. aliensarecool thread starter macrumors 6502a

    aliensarecool

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    #25
    is ifile not enough?
     

Share This Page