iPhone Cydia installed with a bunch of stuff

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by jishaq, Aug 25, 2015.

  1. jishaq macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    #1
    I just jailbroke my iPhone 5s 8.4 using the Mac version of Taig 1.0, which I downloaded from http://res.taig.com/installer/mac/TaiGjailbreak_V100.dmg; it seemed to work fine, and eventually installed Cydia; upon launching, it "prepared" my filesystem for a minute or two, and rebooted. So far, so good.

    When I launch Cydia, it doesn't seem to work as I expect:

    • Search does not work. If I type 'Barrel', I don't have any items in the list. If I then hit 'Search', nothing happens.
    • If I tap on an application (for example, a 'Featured' tool), it gives me a "Cannot Locate Package" error; I would expect it to show details about the app, and offer an install link
    • 'Source' tab reveals 5 items I've never installed and have no knowledge of (apt.saurik.com, BigBoss, ModMyi.com, repo666, ZodTTD)
    • 'Installed' tab reveals several dozen apps under 'User' (APT, Base Structure, BigBoss, BASH, bzip2, etc)

    What did I do wrong? It's as if I'm using someone else's Cydia config, but without the actual apps/source. This phone has never been jailbroken, and I've never used Cydia on it. I very recently did a clean install of 8.4 thru iTunes, deleting all the old stuff off of it.

    Confused! Thanks for your help.
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    Well I can help with the last two on the list. These: apt.saurik.com, BigBoss, ModMyi.com, repo666, ZodTTD are default repos. Cydia has to get it's content from somewhere so it has default repos that install with the app.

    When you install Cydia it also needs supporting packages to enable it to function and to enable your jailbreak to function. The things you list are necessary for the system. Your jailbreak itself should also show as a tweak. Nothing nefarious here.

    As to the other problems, try rebooting one more time.
     
  3. jishaq, Aug 26, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2015

    jishaq thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    #3
    UPDATE: Fourth reboot seemed to fix it. At least, I can install stuff now; I suspect the dozen or so pre-installed things showing up are probably just part of Cydia, they look like typical utils that would comprise a base app platform (bzip, grep, etc).

    Ah - for some reason, I thought 'sources' was 'the source code for some stuff'. Thanks for the explanation, that makes sense. The Cydia install is still totally borked, though. :(
     
  4. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #4
    Try rejailbreaking. That may clear it up.
     

Share This Page