Cydia Keyboard Clicks - FIXED

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by grockk, Dec 4, 2009.

  1. grockk macrumors 6502

    grockk

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    #1
    Cydia doesn't respect the Settings->Sounds Keyboard Clicks toggle. As seen here or here. Other jailbreak apps like iFile have the same problem like here. In case other people on the web are looking for a solution I thought I'd post my success.

    The reason is that these apps are looking at the var/root/library/preferences which does not contain a com.apple.preferences.sounds.plist. so it uses the default value of On for the keyboard clicks. Setting a symlink for the com.apple.preferences.sounds.plist in the root preferences directory to point to the mobile preferences directory fixes the issue.

    Here is the file you are linking.
    [​IMG]

    I did all this on my iPhone using iFile but you could just as easy do it using SSH or whatever.

    Navigate to mobile preferences directory.
    [​IMG]

    Copy/Link the com.apple.preferences.sounds.plist
    [​IMG]

    Paste the link in the rooth preferences directory. Here is the root preferences directory showing the symlink in blue.
    [​IMG]
     
  2. ckong macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    #2
    This is very good info and is interesting. Thanks for sharing.
     
  3. tboooe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
  4. forum user macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    #4
    Thanks grockk

    and for those (me for example ;)), who can enter into MobileTerminal but always get the syntax on the linking wrong:

    Code:
    ln -s /var/mobile/Library/Preferences/com.apple.preferences.sounds.plist /var/root/Library/Preferences/com.apple.preferences.sounds.plist
    
     
  5. UngratefulNinja macrumors 68000

    UngratefulNinja

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #5
    That would be me also :eek: Thanks forumuser and thanks grockk :)
     
  6. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #6
    i don't have the file mentioned in the preferences folder
     
  7. foob macrumors 6502

    foob

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    #7
    This is a great find. It's one of those things that's kinda obvious but no one in the world seems to have thought of it until now.
     
  8. denohk, May 31, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2013

    denohk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    #8
    can anybody tell me where is the "the rooth preferences directory".
    I've tried to copy and past preference.sound file it alert me whether overwrite or rename.
     
  9. Grolubao macrumors 65816

    Grolubao

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #9
    All of this trouble just to get rid of the clicks. Respect!
     
  10. JPNFRK7 macrumors 6502

    JPNFRK7

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #10
    Is that long bar in your status bar a data meter? If so what tweak is it? Thank You
     
  11. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #11
    I think its a Bluetooth battery indicator. I could be wrong but I think that's what that status bar icon is.
     
  12. denohk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    #12
    anybody tell me where is the "the rooth preference " ?






    denohk
    macrumors newbie

    Join Date: May 2013
    can anybody tell me where is the "the rooth preferences directory".
    I've tried to copy and past preference.sound file it alert me whether overwrite or rename.
     
  13. Stooby Mcdoobie macrumors 6502a

    Stooby Mcdoobie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    #13
    Typo. Should be root, not rooth, like it says in the second sentence of that same line.
     

Share This Page