Cydia not workign properly , Cached error, POSIX error and host not found

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by groovs, Aug 12, 2009.

  1. groovs macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    #1
    Hey there,

    I am new here so kindly bare with me.

    I did a restore on my iPhone 3G with 3.0 firmware
    jailbroke it through redsnow 0.8

    unlocked it thru ultrasnow


    all went well and iphone is in working condition

    The only thing giving problem is the Cydia. When i try to upgrade it says POSIX error and host not found on most of the repositories.

    Also when adding the repository apt.modmyi.com it says does not exist and legacy repo.

    Any help will be highly appreciated.

    Another error

    NetDb: open node or the servername doesnot exist
     
  2. bruinsrme macrumors 601

    bruinsrme

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
  3. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #3
    Ignore the errors. If it bugs you that bad, then use Icy. Also make sure that modmyi doesn't have a new updated repo.
     
  4. mcdj macrumors 604

    mcdj

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
  5. groovs thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    #5
    it give the same error on apt.saurik.com

    Also i cant sort of ignore the errors as i have to upgrade the cydia and install softwares and the errors doesnt let me.
     
  6. bruinsrme macrumors 601

    bruinsrme

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #6
    did you do the complete upgrade after you open up cydia the first time?
     
  7. groovs thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    #7
    CAn you kindly tell how to check / ensure this ?

    When i opened up the cydia for the first time after a fresh restore, Jb and unlock it aske dme to upgrade i selected complete upgrade. but before my upgrade can be downloaded and installed it started giving me all sorts of errors.

    I am wondering if the servers may be down ?? or repo addresses may be changed ??

    my apologies

    when it says host unreachable... doesnt that mean that host / server is nto there. ??

    while adding apt.modmyi.com it says repository not found ...
    how is that possible? i added other repos as well and they seem to be added fine.
    ???
     
  8. groovs thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    #8
    iPhone data connection / internet freezes after a couple of days and i have
    to restart the phone and then it works fine.

    i dont get it what is wrong here. I did a restore on the phone as well

    iPhopne 3G
    OS 3.0
    JB redsn0w 0.8
    Unlock Ultrasn0w 0.9

    :confused:
     
  9. bender o macrumors 6502

    bender o

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #9
    I get that almost everytime over wifi or 3g, it bugged me a lot at first but then I just gave up lol.
     

Share This Page