Cydia update may have permanently locked iphone

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by pryan, Oct 1, 2009.

  1. pryan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    #1
    I have a 3G iphone running 3.01 which i updated from 2.2.1. The phone was unlocked to start with (bought in HK open for any SIM); after updating I successfully jailbroke using RedsnOw 0.8 and installed Cydia; I downloaded several programs via desktop Installer and a Chinese iphone suite 91 Mobile which channeled Cydia's repository and all worked fine, except maybe the 'categories' program. Then, I connected to Cydia via iphone and wifi and was told I had 4 essential updates and 12 in total. Selecting downloading all 12 caused cydia to crash twice so I chose only the 4 essentials. Two downloaded and installed, cydia shutdown/crashed, i repeated for the second two and after finishing downloading i pressed "restart cydia" which it spent a while doing without moving so i pressed the menu/home button which took me to the home screen. Then, I tried to reopen cydia in my utilities folder (categories program) and the iphone froze. I was able to restart by holding the menu/home button and the sleep button but unable to get past the apple icon just after it turns on. I was able to turn off the iphone by holding both buttons for six seconds at which time the screen flashed white before shutting down. I can also get it restart simply by continuing to hold the buttons for several more seconds but when it turns on it returns to the same point and cannot go past it. When plugged in to the computer neither itunes nor 91Mobile recognizes the device. In fact, not even the computer (IBM laptop) recognizes a device is installed with the traditional sound it makes. However, when the iphone is off when i plug it in it does turn on but only to the same place. Is there anyway to save my iphone? Please help!!!
     
  2. Tokiopop macrumors 68000

    Tokiopop

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
  3. Mess macrumors 6502

    Mess

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
    #3
    Yes paragraphs would be nice :rolleyes:

    Have u tried putting the phone into DFU mode? Will itunes detect it then?

    Andy
     
  4. fishmd macrumors 68000

    fishmd

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny South Florida
    #4
    Exactly. Place it in DFU mode. Hook it up and restore. No problem.
     
  5. koollectablz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    #5
    Yeah, with a 3g you can restore straight to 3.01 in dfu mode and just re-jailbreak.
     
  6. pryan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    #6
    muchas gracias!!!

    Putting it into DFU mode worked perfectly. Thank you very, very much!!! :):):)

    next time i will properly format my posts :eek:
     

Share This Page