Cydia upload says 3.1.3?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by hockeynuts, Feb 28, 2010.

  1. hockeynuts macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    #1
    I uploaded SHSHs to Cydia. The screen states "This device has SHSHs on file for iphone OS:3.1.3." yet I am running 3.1.2? Is this correct?

    Thanks wise iphone users....
     
  2. hockeynuts thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    #3
    Thanks Juice.

    For those new to iphone and elders thanks for this forum. The support and knowledge in this furom is priceless.....
     
  3. megapopular macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    #4
    Yessir

    For a little more detail, since Apple is no longer signing firmware 3.1.2, it's only able to sign and store your info for downgrading to 3.1.3 when the firmware goes to a higher version in the future. That's why you got the "yes" answer.
     
  4. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #5
    You aren't uploading your SHSHs to Saurik's server; you are giving him permission to use your ECID to request your SHSH directly from Apple. He can only get the SHSH for firmware versions that Apple will still sign, but he can request those signatures no matter what firmware is currently on your phone.
     
  5. hockeynuts thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    #6
    Now I am confused-sorry. I thoguht this would allow me to go back to 3.1.2 should I inadvertantly upgrade to 3.1.3.?
     
  6. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #7
    Only if you pressed Make my Life easier before the 3.1.3 firmware was released. You can only collect SHSH for firmware while it is signed. If Cydia doesn't list 3.1.2 then you didn't get that version saved.
     
  7. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    What thelatinist said doesn't change what you thought it does... It's only implemented a different way.

    Basically, you don't send Saurik your SHSH. You send him what he needs to get the correct one from Apple so he can spoof their server for you. If you don't understand it just consider it magic and know that your life was made easier. :)
     
  8. hockeynuts thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    #9
    I think I understand. Thanks for your wisdom and patience.
     
  9. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #10
    Oh, but it does. If the SHSH were something you uploaded to Saurik directly from your phone than it would not be possible for Saurik to have SHSHs for versions of the OS you don't have on your phone. In addition, it would still be possible to upload 3.1.2 SHSHs to Saurik's server. Not understanding how it works is the source of the OP's confusion about why his 3.1.2 SHSHs are not on file and how his 3.1.3 ones can be.
     
  10. Arky macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #11
    Hi, language makes things harder for me, i cant understand 100% of this discussion, but I'm in a similar situation.

    I'm running 3.1.2 Jailbreaked iphone, I uploaded the SHSH files to cydia as soon as i bought it, but by then, firmware in Itunes was 3.1.3 already, and in my cydia screen it also says "This device has SHSHSs on file for IPhone OS: 3.1.3"

    So my question is : with this situation, can i restore my IPhone to default settings following the Tutorials about changing Hosts file, and using 3.1.2 ipws file?, or will i end up with 3.1.3 and won't be able to downgrade/jailbreak?

    Regards and thanks in advice.
     
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #12
    On the top of the screen when you open up cydia does it say this device has SHSH's on file for iphone OS: 3.1.2
    Or just lists 3.1.3?

    Mine says 3.1, 3.1.2, 3.1.3
    So I can restore my iphone 3GS to any of those firmware versions listed above.
    I couldnt restore it to 3.0 for example cause its not listed there.
    If Apple released 3.1.3 by the time you JB your iphone then you wont be able to go to anything below 3.1.3 cause they dont release those SHSH's any more for Cydia to grab.
     
  12. Arky macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #13
    Dohhh, i guess i can't restore to default back to 3.1.2 then, cos it only says 3.1.3
    Shame tho, since i never updated to 3.1.3 ;(
     
  13. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #14
    The firmware on your phone has nothing to do with what SHSHs you can have on file. SHSH requests are done entirely on the server side by Saurik.
     
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #15
    Yes, even though you never updated it to 3.1.3 Apple stop signing the 3.1.2 firmware the day 3.1.3 was out. So if you clicked "make my life easier" on cydia after February 2 that the new 3.1.3 was out then you wont be able to get them.
     
  15. Arky macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #16
    Got it, thanks for the help and quick replies ;)
     

Share This Page