Cydia - What's it installing with Pwnage 2.0?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by rioja, Jul 20, 2008.

  1. rioja macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    #1
    I used Pwnage 2.0 yesterday and it worked like a charm. Cydia was also installed and I'm getting update alerts from Cydia. I don't think it's a bug or anything, but I'm not interested in installing Jailbreak apps since my #1 app (NemusSync) isn't available yet for 2.0.

    In Cydia, the dock shows "Changes 1". In Changes, there is a bunch of stuff listed libxml2, bzip2, SQLite v3, NES, etc. Do I need to install these for Pwnage 2.0 to keep working right?

    Also, holding down the home button does not kill Cydia like it does for other apps. Does it just keep running at all times?

    Somehow Installer app seemed so much easier to use.
     
  2. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #2
    Cydia is much more than just the package manager. It also does the same work that BSD subsystem used to do, but in a much less buggy and more functional manner. As such, it's important to ensure that the packages it installs are up to date, especially the ones that it defines as essential.

    Cydia is not supposed to keep running. If you continue to hold the home button, it'll force quit. The good news is that, after running the updates that Cydia is requesting, it now quits cleanly.

    For the what and why of it, read here.
     
  3. rioja thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    #3
    Wow.. thx :) Exactly what I needed to know!
     
  4. bbplayer5 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #4
    First time using Cydia here (3G iphone) and I must say.... I really really like this!
     
  5. Nde macrumors 6502a

    Nde

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #5
    Is there a way to add sources in Cydia? That's one thing I love Installer is be able to add individual sources.
     
  6. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #6
    I believe it's on the "to-do" list. There's a FAQ on the front page of the app.
     
  7. gazzer82 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #7
    You can add sources to Cydia by modifying the file /etc/apt/sources.list

    Though i don't think there are any to add at the moment, eventually this will be available in the Settings panel of your iPhone.

    Cheers

    Gareth
     
  8. fuzzyorange macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    #8
    This is driving me mad...

    It says it needs to install updates (libxml2, bzip2, SQLite v3, NES, etc...) but when I click install - it downloads them all then goes to a screen with just the usual animated working ticker

    And it goes nowhere - I cant force quit, ive left it for 10mins, it does nothing just hangs

    I have to hard reset the phone :(

    Help?
     
  9. fuzzyorange macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    #9
    ...and to make things worse

    My mail has stopped working - so I need to SSH in or run terminal to CHMOD the mail directory

    But I clicked install on the mobileterminal app and all I get is a message saying "Running..." and another bloody spinning timer thing and a loading bar at the bottom that never moves

    And nothing happens....

    I miss installer.app :(

    Cydia seems like a useless and very buggy application
     
  10. ViRGE macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    #10
    It apparently takes a good while to respring. Also, keep in mind that the Changes page isn't just updates for applications you have installed, but lists all recent updates. You'll want to pay attention, the two categories are separated.
     
  11. iBookfan macrumors 6502

    iBookfan

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #11
    I've just opend Cydia and it says there are importent updates.. Do I have to update those? I'm not gonna use Cydia but is the updates for the system 2.0?
     
  12. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #12
    I'm currently getting a spinning timer and the app doesn't seem to fully refresh. My guess is the server's getting hammered.
     
  13. fuzzyorange macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    #13
    Yep I think I'll give up and try it again tomorrow night

    But I could do with getting my mail app working again :(
     
  14. ViRGE macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    #14
    You should install the important updates, along with any other updates for applications you have installed.
     
  15. iBookfan macrumors 6502

    iBookfan

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #15
    Okay, thanks :). Is it those updates you other guys is having trouble with? Then I think I'm gonna wait trying these updates ;)
     
  16. fuzzyorange macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    #16
    I tried doing the updates again this morning when I got up, they took about 5 minutes but did work fine

    Must have been server load last night :)
     
  17. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #17
    Glad it's OK now. Mine's behaving properly too.
     
  18. iBookfan macrumors 6502

    iBookfan

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #18
    I tried today, but after downloading the package the spinning wheel just kept on spinning.. So after a hard reset, i tried again and everything worked out pretty quick.

    Thats nice ;)
     
  19. carfac macrumors 65816

    carfac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    #19
    I installed the openssh in with Cydia (I don't think I have a choice, do i?) Anyway, I tried to SFTP in, but could not connect. I have the right IP address in, using SFTP not FTP, using "root" and alpine".

    Do I have to start it up on the iPhone? How do I start it?
     
  20. meagain macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    #20
    I went to some website to see if I could glean what apps Cydia has and saw iPhysics, etc.

    I load this thing and there's ONE game in it (NES). I see nothing to allow wallpaper even. It's mostly all tools for development, etc. And no sources or ability to add sources. Wow

    What am I missing here? What is the value of this for regular people like me that want games and display customization?
     
  21. philograf macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
  22. megamanbnmaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #22
    wait a while.
    most apps have to be ported and edited/rewritten to make it work on 2.0
    with jailbreak out for only < 3 days, not many developers could finish that early.
     
  23. rioja thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    #23
    SSH runs by itself, although I think it turns on/off when not being accessed.
    i had a similar problem too and I noticed that my iPhone was sleeping. When I woke it up by pressing the Home button, I noticed that wifi was not connected.... after a few seconds it auto-finds my network and is connected again. Wifi needs to be connected to SSH.

    I changed Settings->General->Auto-Lock to "Never" to keep it awake while I handled my SSH business, then changed it back after.

    Might be your problem too.
     
  24. yehudah72 macrumors regular

    yehudah72

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    #24
    do we really need Cydia???




    is Cydia just like Installer.app...... for 3rd Party Apps??? and if you don't care for it can you not install it?

    i read somewhere in this forums that when you use the Pwnage Tool 2.0.1 through EXPERT mode and don't make any changes, it is the same as SIMPLE mode, but it fixes some problems. i didn't quit understand everything, but i did the EXPERT mode and Unchecked the Cydia (as this is where my iPhone 2.0 FROZE the previous time i Pwnage it).


    let me know, anyone, if that was okay?
     
  25. benflick macrumors 68020

    benflick

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #25
    can someone help me?

    i used winpwn to successfully unlock and jailbreak my 2g 2.0 iphone. an hour or so after i unlocked it i noticed cydia had some updates available. it said that i should update 4 items or my iphone may experience problems. i decided to update them and now my phone is just sitting there with a black screen that says "complete" at the top and some other small writing on the screen. at the bottom of the screen it says close window and when i selected "close window", it froze and now there is a spinning line thing that indicates loading. this has been like this for 30 minutes now. is there any thing to worry about? i am scared of what is happening to it. can someone please help me and maybe tell what i need to do next. please!:(
     

Share This Page