Cydia with Icy

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by -aggie-, Apr 3, 2010.

  1. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #1
    I'm reading that having Icy installed with Cydia causes Cydia to crash and is not recommended. However, I'm getting conflicting information that it's okay to install Icy from the repo for Icy in Cydia. Anyone know if this is true?
     
  2. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #2
    I don't think Icy has been supported for about 6 months now. And installing both at the same time while jailbreaking can cause problems.
     
  3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3
    Yes, Icy is pretty much dead.
    Dont bother.....
     
  4. -aggie- thread starter macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #4
    Any idea why they don't fix Cydia? Nocyrefresh does what you want, but it changes Cydia. Why can't the Cydia developer incorporate the modifications Nocyrefresh does and let us decide when we want to update the screen?
     
  5. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #5
    Cydia opens quite a bit faster than it used to for me (3GS). I didn't time it with a watch, but I believe it only takes about 10 seconds (Wifi). I am a patient person anyway.
     
  6. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #6
    What's wrong with Cydia? Works fine for me. Sure, if you're trying to use it on Edge or something it will take a while to update when you first start it, but I've never found it much of a problem. Just timed it, and it took about six seconds to load initially, and about three the second time.

    "They" by the way, are one man who does has quite a lot on his plate.
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    It has became quit fast latelly.
    I was alot slower to load before.
     
  8. -aggie- thread starter macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #8
    What's wrong with Cydia? I open it up and wait a minute while it's "Loading Data." Then I get some errors with certain repos, and it goes to "Reloading Data." And then here and there, I get random "Reloading Data." And searching totally sucks, but at least if "he" could fix the automatic refreshes (what Nocyrefresh does), I'd be happy. Don't get me started on the constant Cydia crashes.
     
  9. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #9
    It sounds like you have some bad repos that are causing your problems. Cydia has never crashed on my phone.
     
  10. -aggie- thread starter macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #10
    However, you have a 3GS. Supposedly, Cydia runs better on that.
     

Share This Page