D3000 or D3100

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by ComanWilson, Jun 21, 2011.

1. ComanWilson macrumors newbie

First let me say this, I'm a broke college student.

Now, i'm looking to make the transition to shooting with a DSLR. A friend of mine has offered to give me his kit 18-55mm and 55-200mm from his D5000, since he has upgraded his glass. I've searched the web and I've found a D3000 body for around $300, and a D3100 for about $500. I wont have the camera for very long, I'm only trying to get familiar with using a DSLR before I invest in a better camera.

The question that I have is the difference between the D3000 and D3100 that significant to warrant spending the extra 200?

2. Waybo macrumors regular

I have a D3100, which I received at Christmas, as my first DSLR. In some areas, I feel like I've already outgrown it. (But note that I'm not working, and have lots of time to take, literally, thousands of photos.) Replacing it, however, is not an option at this time, or any time soon.

Neither of your choices do bracketing. If you are interested in doing HDR, then neither is a great option. My next DSLR will certainly have this feature.

At Christmas time, the D3100 was not available without the kit lens, so you may end up with two 18-55mm lenses.

All of that being said, the D3100 it isn't a bad entry level camera, especially at $500. I've had some fine shots with mine that I would never have been able to achieve with the old point and shoot.

The D3100 is a new model, replacing the older D3000. (Note that there have already been firmware updates.) You may find it a better investment when you are ready to move up. If it comes with the kit lens, all the better.