D500 on a Mac Pro ... did I make the right choice?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by dcarmichael, Nov 13, 2015.

  1. dcarmichael macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    #1
    After having my 2008 Mac Pro (2 x 3.0GHz 4-core Xeons, 32GB RAM, EVGA GTX680 graphics with 2GB VRAM, Apple Cinema HD 24") unexpectedly die in the middle of a project, I recently got myself a 2013 Mac Pro (1 x 6-core Xeon, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD, 4TB HDD, 2 x ATI D500 GPUs with 3GB VRAM each, 2 x Dell P2415Q 24" 4K monitors.)

    I've been enjoying the performance increase of it on most of the applications I work with (VMware Fusion, Second Life, Logic Pro X/Final Cut Pro X, Propellerheads Reason and other software synthesis/music tools) as well as the quality of the Retina desktop.

    Most of the video work I hope to do is "prosumer-level" 4K editing from a camera like the Panasonic HC-X1000 (http://shop.panasonic.com/cameras-and-camcorders/camcorders/HC-X1000.html) or Sony PXW-Z100 (https://pro.sony.com/bbsc/ssr/product-PXWZ100/) and also using video from my iPhone 6S or Galaxy Note 5.
    (This is my first foray into the 4K world from years at 1080p/SD.)

    I do plan to do some virtual-world content development (Unity3D, for example) but I don't plan to do serious film-level editing/FX (i.e., greater-than-4K resolution.)

    Would the 2 x D500s keep up with those tasks?
    (I'm thinking that there would be a 'step-change' increase over the GTX680 with just the 2 x GPUs alone.)
     
  2. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #2
    Personally I'd have waited as its due a refresh but needs must
     
  3. rawweb macrumors 6502a

    rawweb

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    #3
    What was the unexpected 'death'? Could it have been repaired to keep you moving? That wasn't that bad of a system compared to what you got.

    I have to agree with Gav2k, I would have waited as long as possible as I think a Mac Pro refresh is imminent.
     
  4. dcarmichael, Nov 13, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2015

    dcarmichael thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    #4
    PSU failure, vintage part was not available.

    Went to two authorized service providers, and they couldn't diagnose the fault... had to go do research on reddit (https://www.reddit.com/r/applehelp/comments/3r4vpr/mac_pro31_early_2008_randomly_shuts_down_fans_at/) to find out a possible cause.

    First service provider ran Apple Hardware Test, memtest, and another one (don't remember the name.)

    They could make it crash several times the same way I described, but couldn't consistently reproduce it.

    Second service provider ran Apple Service Diagnostics for 36 hours, and couldn't reproduce the failure at all.
     
  5. nigelbb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #5
    When the power supply in my 2008 3,1 died about a year ago I bought a used power supply for the equivalent of about $150. It actually looked brand new & unused & is still going strong. I was in two minds whether to buy a whole low spec'd 2008 3,1 just for the power supply. You can still buy a brand new power supply for about $300. On the other hand if you needed an excuse to buy a nMP...
     
  6. Riwam macrumors 6502a

    Riwam

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Location:
    Basel, Switzerland
    #6
    *****
    Enjoy your new computer and disregard all the people giving hints and advises which anyway do not apply any longer to your present situation.
    People have been announcing a new MP already half a year after the release of this one! :rolleyes:
    Although Apple calls it end 2013 it actually become avaiilable with a short delivery timetable around April-May 2014, just one and a half year ago.
    Those hearing to the announcements of "a new one just about to be available" never bought one and in many cases actually were looking for a pretext not to buy it. ;)

    Even if a new model comes, this model will still deliver more than most users actually need for several years to come.
    Only a small percentage of professionals need other components like very special graphic cards or run very special software needing a different kind of hardware or even a Windows OS and those people usually buy or build together what they need.

    Therefore feel happy with your MP 6.1. :)
    It delivers enough power, is extremely silent and never gets hot, all qualities difficult to find together in any other computer unless build to order.
    It is not perfect and no product built by humans will ever be, but it is reasonably near to perfection in my humble point of view.
    Ed
     
  7. pat500000 macrumors 604

    pat500000

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #7
    There is no buyer's guilt in regards to this. 6,1 is good. I think MVC (MR member) happened to be working on graphic cards for 2013 mp...if i'm not mistaken. However, it's still a beast.
     
  8. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #8
    It really depends on the specific application. Most software won't make use of the second video card at all, as it is a "compute-only" card. However, you listed Logic Pro X/Final Cut Pro X, which both make excellent use of the dual cards, as they are pretty much designed for it. Those applications, and any others designed to take advantage of OpenCL, should get a big boost.

    Regardless of video cards, probably all of your software is going to get a massive boost from the faster CPU, faster bus, and faster memory. Also the whole system should feel more responsive due to the very fast SSD. But you don't need anyone to tell you this, you should be experiencing the benefits in person, right now.
     
  9. Average Pro macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Location:
    Cali
    #9
    Riwam said it perfectly. I purchased my nMP at the beginning of 2014. There were several complaints before the system was even available. And the "soon to be updated" postings followed within 6 months. Here's my perspective...I have more than I need and I've had the benefit of the new system for almost 2 years. If, and when, an update (bump in speed) or version (hardware) becomes available, it won't matter to me. I have several more years with this system and if I need to expand I'll use the TB2 capability.
     
  10. filmak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    between earth and heaven
    #10
    Yes, of course they will keep up, don't worry about them at all.
     

Share This Page