D700s CrossFire Support

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MacProCard, Jun 18, 2014.

  1. MacProCard, Jun 18, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2014

    MacProCard macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    #1
    Anyone else playing games out there with their nMP? I thought I read where crossfire wouldn't be enabled in Windows. I'm running 8.1 pro and it says AMD CrossFireX is enabled. Any thoughts/experiences with games?
     
  2. tuxon86 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    #2
    You heard wrong... It's in OSX that it isn't available.
     
  3. MacProCard thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    #3
    Guess I did. -Dam message boards. :mad:

    TitanFall is rocking. This CAN rocks. Got a state of the art video editor and high-end gamer for one low price. :)
     
  4. iBighouse macrumors 6502a

    iBighouse

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    #4
    What configuration do you have? By any chance have you tried to setup an xbox one controller for use in windows?
     
  5. chfilm macrumors 65816

    chfilm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #5
    xFire is enabled under windows and it flies!
    Battlefield 4 on maximum settings on a 27" display!! (8 core, 64gig, d700)
     
  6. zViiPeR macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #6
    What kind of FPS are you getting?
     
  7. chfilm macrumors 65816

    chfilm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #7
    How do I enable the fps display?

    It's running smoothly that's all I know :cool:
     
  8. MacProCard, Jun 20, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2014

    MacProCard thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    #8
    6 core, 64gb, d700, 1tb. Running TitanFall maxed 2560x1440 resolution. (27" Thunderbolt display) Running this on a 256gb Win 8.1 PRO partition with bootcamp. Not a VM.

    Don't know about fps either, smooth as silk though.

    I'll download Fraps and see what I come up with on TitanFall.
     
  9. MacProCard thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    #9
    Online game play I'm getting between 50-60 fps. Stays mostly on 60.
    Game settings.
    Resolution: 2560x1440
    Anti-Aliasing: 8xMSAA
    Texture res: Insane
    Texture Filtering: Anisotropic 16x
    Everything else set to high.
     
  10. MacProCard thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    #10
    Crysis 3 on the other hand is pushing this thing to the limit. Just after a few minutes of play the fan really kicks on high. Not so quite.
     
  11. Intelligent macrumors 6502a

    Intelligent

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    #11

    So.. FPS and Graphics Settings?
     
  12. MacProCard thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    #12
    Crysis 3 Single player
    fps: 25-17
    Res: 2560x1440
    Anti: MSAA High(8x)
    Texture Resolution: Very High
    V-Sync: Yes
    System Spec: Very High
    Anisotropic Filtering: 16x
    Motion Blur: High
    Lens Flares: Yes
     
  13. Intelligent macrumors 6502a

    Intelligent

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    #13
    Thanks, i guess 1920x1080 Medium/High would run fine.
     
  14. MacProCard thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    #14
    Easily. Dropping resolution down to 1920x1080 and everything else staying the same gave almost another 10fps.
     
  15. kfscoll macrumors 65816

    kfscoll

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    #15
    I think you should be getting better performance than that in Crysis. What drivers are you using? If you're using the stock Apple-provided Boot Camp drivers, download the latest Catalyst drivers directly from AMD.
     
  16. fuchsdh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #16
    Is it also possible CrossFire just isn't working? I know for some games support can be wonky.

    Relly wish Apple would offer Crossfire on Macs. That, 10bit color and continuing OpenGL improvements are my big three wishes for them on the graphics side of things.
     
  17. kfscoll macrumors 65816

    kfscoll

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    #17
    Based on the frame rates the OP reported, I was going to suggest that maybe Crossfire wasn't working. Newer drivers can and do include updated Crossfire profiles -- I know for a fact that Crossfire was working with my D700s when playing Crysis 3. I can't remember the exact settings I was using, but I know I was getting a solid 60fps at 1080p which seems to be higher than the OP.

    Bottom line -- it's definitely worthwhile to update the drivers.
     
  18. brentsg macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #18
    This isn't necessarily a Mac Pro thing. Welcome to the world of Crossfire / SLI gaming.
     
  19. EvilMonk macrumors regular

    EvilMonk

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #19
    for one low price? :p
    Paid my new Mac Pro 9k$ and I'm still waiting for it.
    8 Cores 3Ghz /32 Gb / 1Tb SSD / Dual D700
     
  20. MacProCard thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    #20
    Did I say that?:rolleyes: Guess I did.
    Try adding on an Herman Miller Embody chair, monitor swing mounts, and a height adjustable desk.
     
  21. EvilMonk macrumors regular

    EvilMonk

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #21
    rofl, I'll start by getting the damn workstation through the mail first... I already have a great chair in front of my desk... no need for all that :p
     
  22. Anim macrumors 6502a

    Anim

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Location:
    Macclesfield, UK
    #22
    TERA online (Unreal engine game) with XFire = 60fps, no XFire = 60fps

    6 Core D700, 16GB ram, Win 8.1, 27" Thunderbolt Display, Max res, all settings on max
     
  23. Alrescha macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #23
    Can Crossfire be enabled in a VM? Does it work? I am curious since you specified 'Not a VM', and I know nothing of the technology.

    A.
     
  24. MacProCard thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    #24
    Believe it or not but VM has been around a long while. I ran Virtual PC 2004 on a transcend usb drive way back when. :)

    You're always tied to the frame/shell of the VM. So things are limited by software restraints. Whereas bootcamp it's not. For gaming bootcamp is recommended but requires a little more know how. Plenty of good material on here to look around.
     
  25. Alrescha macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #25
    Yes, I have been using virtual machines since 1976, and I am very appreciative of the concept. :)

    Thank you for your reply. I understand that things work better when running on the bare metal rather than virtually, and different implementations bring different capabilities, e.g. Parallels versus VMware.

    My question was related to Crossfire, since you specifically mentioned "Not a VM", you piqued my curiosity - do any implementations of virtual machines support Crossfire today? If so, does it help?

    Thank you for any insight,

    A.
     

Share This Page