D90 for 559??

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by thouts, Feb 3, 2009.

  1. thouts macrumors regular


    Jul 2, 2008
  2. Cliff3 macrumors 68000


    Nov 2, 2007
    SF Bay Area
    You know what they say: if it seems to good to be true...

    Nikon has minimum advertised price agreements in place with their authorized retailers. Retailers get some wiggle room on those prices through hiding the price behind an add to cart button or creating product bundles that mix some worthless crud in with the item you really want. Anyone openly showing unusually low prices like this retailer is probably, at best, not an authorized Nikon retailer (translation: no warranty on your stuff). Worst case and more likely, they charge your card and don't ship anything at all.

    Stick to B&H or Amazon.
  3. rogersmj macrumors 68020


    Sep 10, 2006
    Indianapolis, IN
    Something like this gets posted once a week around here.

    Before you buy, check the shop on http://resellerratings.com . And yes, SonicCameras is one of the many, many ripoff camera shops.
  4. Phatpat macrumors 6502a


    Jun 15, 2003
    Cambridge, MA
    Does anyone know why camera stores seem much more prone to this sort of thing than other types of stores?
  5. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Jan 5, 2006
    Redondo Beach, California
    History. Long before the Internet there were magazine ads for New York camera shops. Camera were one of the few items where it made any sense back them to mail order. Because shipping was a small fraction of the total price paid. So these guy got good at scamming back then.

    To do a scam you need a small and expensive item that sells in large numbers where people price shop. Cameras pretty much fit that description

Share This Page