Daisy Chain 5k's?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by aloshka, Nov 1, 2016.

  1. aloshka, Nov 1, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2016

    aloshka macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    #1
    I *might* go dual 5k's if I go the laptop route. If that's the case, I think just plugging one cable in and not worrying about anything else would truly be magical. Is that possible, or is each TB3 port have to be used (assume I will be getting those LG screens).
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Each 5k monitor will need its own connection. One connection cannot move enough data to run two 5ks at once.
     
  3. jerryk macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #3
    For development I am considering going from two 24s to a single curved ultrawide (34 or 37).
     
  4. aloshka thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    #4
    I didn't think so either, but thanks so much for the answer!!
     
  5. aloshka thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    #5
    One last question. Can you daisy chain 2 4k monitors @ 60hz?
     
  6. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #6
    - If they have Thunderbolt 3, yes.
     
  7. aloshka thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    #7
    That's awesome. Thank you!

    By the way, just wondering, how do you know? I searched and couldn't find any info on it.
    --- Post Merged, Nov 2, 2016 ---
    What kind of development do you do? iOS, macOS, Windows, .NEt, etc?
     
  8. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #8
    - Here you go:

    https://thunderbolttechnology.net/tech/faq
     
  9. aloshka thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    #9
    I found that, but how do you equivalate that it's supposed on a single cable? I guess you can run 1 4k @ DP 1.2, but the res is higher than normal 4k.

    I really appreciate the info by the way.
     
  10. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #10
    - Wouldn't make sense to list the capability of several cables combined. Plus it mentions "a single cable" in the paragraph.
    Here's an infographic and diagram that breaks down the bandwidth used:

    Screen Shot 2016-11-02 at 21.50.39.png Screen Shot 2016-11-02 at 21.48.39.png

    https://thunderbolttechnology.net/sites/all/themes/tb/images/Thunderbolt3_infographic_100715.jpg
    https://thunderbolttechnology.net/sites/default/files/Thunderbolt3_TechBrief_FINAL.pdf
     
  11. jerryk, Nov 2, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2016

    jerryk macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #11
    Some IOS and Android, Web (Angular), occassionaly robotics, .Net Core, and lately a lot of Machine Learning in Python and R.

    Having the extra real estate without the dividing bezels is what I am after. I usually have 3 or 4 windows of various types open when developing and want to see all of them.
     
  12. aloshka thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    #12
    Wow thank you. Hopefully didn't take too much of your time to post this, but I appreciate it. Excited!! Now just to decide.. 1 5k or 2 4k's...
    --- Post Merged, Nov 2, 2016 ---
    Would you consider just using 2 4k monitors (21.5 announced LG)? I'm a .NET developer, using mostly parallels and iOS.

    I tried 34 ultra wide back when I was on the PC. It kind of sucked IMO. Can't really say why. Just didn't like how it felt. No real physical separator so required more "window management".
     
  13. jerryk macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #13
    We have people using the ultrawides and I liked them when I tried it. I suspect it is just a preference thing. And since I do mostly code, and spend a lot of it in a command window, the 4K may not be too critical. I mean how clearly to you needs to see shell commands?

    Also, I am concerned that the 4Ks might cause the fans in my 2015 15" rMBP to run all the time as they try to keep the dGPU cool.
     
  14. aloshka thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    #14
    I see your point. Especially about the fans. I'm probably going to order the 15" 2016 topped out, so maybe won't be an issue for me.

    As for clarity. If you stare at text daily and for a long time, it makes a huge difference. And yeah, absolutely a preference thing. I have a few folks that simply LOVE their u3415w's.
     
  15. jerryk macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #15
    Let me know how it goes with the noise. I am probably going to wait until next fall to upgrade, but it would be great to hear that the unit is quiet even when driving high res displays.
     
  16. aloshka thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    #16
    If I order now, delivery won't be until December 9th... so might be a while. I'll bookmark this, so when I get it I'll post my thoughts. And of course, won't have a 27 or 24 until even later.
     

Share This Page