Damn...lost my iPhone last night.

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Imola Ghost, Feb 8, 2010.

  1. Imola Ghost macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    #1
    I called the place where I was and they said nothing was turned in. DAMMIT.
     
  2. ARF900 macrumors 65816

    ARF900

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
  3. Imola Ghost thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    #3
    I do have Mobile Me but I don't have it activated with the phone.
     
  4. alecgold macrumors 6502a

    alecgold

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    NLD
  5. *LTD* macrumors G4

    *LTD*

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    If you have MobileMe why on earth would you not be using it with your iPhone? You're already paying for the service.
     
  6. henchosbandito macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Location:
    Somewhere between 10 and 11
    #6
    I lost my iPhone back in November (no insurance, no sympathy please) and i also have a mobile me account. my phone was activated to be used to mobile me location finder. Only i didnt think about the order in which i should have wiped and blocked my phone with O2. I called O2 to block the SIM straight away - didnt want some idiot running up huge bills or phoning dodgy people on my number. Got home, thought, oh, ill remotely wipe my device, that'll make me feel better. Only occurred to me then that the phone recieves the command to wipe via the network.

    :mad:

    Still, the handset was also blocked so whoever decided to not hand my phone into lost property (was at a gig when I lost it) couldnt have had too much fun on it.
     
  7. Imola Ghost thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    #7

    I didn't really like having to put in a code every time I need to access the phone.
     
  8. VulchR macrumors 68020

    VulchR

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Location:
    Scotland
    #8
    I didn't buy insurance but I have paid for MobileMe. It might not prevent theft, or compensate me if the phone is stolen, but it will allow me to put up a few choice words and brick the phone remotely.

    Sorry to hear about your experience.
     
  9. Dragonforce macrumors 6502a

    Dragonforce

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    London (Ealing) UK
    #9
    Excuse me... ?
     
  10. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #10
    Say what??
     
  11. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #11
    I never lock my phone either so don't feel bad.
     
  12. scott99 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #12
    My condolences. I'd be devastated. I hope you are able to get another one, I'm lost without mine.
     
  13. greygray macrumors 68000

    greygray

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    #14
    That's a sad loss, OP. What a waste you didn't activate Mobileme or have a lockcode. :(
     
  14. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #16
    You do not have to have your phone passcode locked to use MobileMe. True, anyone who found/stole your phone could then turn it off...but there is at least a chance that they wouldn't know or think about it.
     
  15. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #17
    Sorry OP

    it's a bummer when these things happen but basically it's like leaving $600 bucks laying around, Then expecting to come back hoping to find it latter. buying a new car but leaving the keys in it because you don't be bothered with locking it! truly a bummer but chalk it up to lesson learned! ;)
     
  16. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #18
    I thought I was on MacRumors forum but somehow I stumbled upon twitter. Weird. Oh well. I'm thirsty.
     

Share This Page