DarwiinRemote not Communicating Nestopia

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Rock2056, Nov 10, 2010.

  1. Rock2056 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    #1
    Hello,

    Does anyone know why i cant connect the wiiremote to Nestopia.

    I just bought my first MacBook Pro a few weeks ago and I'm taking advantage of some of the features available, so I decided to try the DarwiinRemote app and see it work with an NES Emulator. I'm having some issues communicating from the Wii Remote to Nestopia though.



    I have DarwiinRemote 0.6 and Nestopia 1.4.1 with the Emulator Enhancer (although I haven't payed the $30 quite yet). All my key strokes are properly mapped in DarwiinRemote, matching up with the keyboard configuration in Nestopia, however, it doesn't work at all. I can press the keyboard keys to play the game and it responds fine but the Wii Remote doesn't do anything.

    Thanks for your help!

    Rock2056
     
  2. lannister80 macrumors 6502

    lannister80

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #2
    There's a solution to this issue somewhere, I remember reading it on these forums a few months ago.

    I think it was something like Nestopia was using a deprecated method of looking for inputs and that's what caused it not to talk to Darwiinremote. Some guy was able to fix it.

    Sorry, not sure where that post went.
     
  3. Rock2056 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    #3
    Reply to Darwinremote not communicating with nestopia

    Hello,

    Could this maybe be the guy who fixed it? I dont understand the meaning of this thread. Could you maybe explain in simpler terms if you understand? I dont understand what I am suppose to do with the patch? Because I get that same message this user gets Newrougecolor.>The managed object model version used to open the persistent store is incompatible with the one that was used to create the persistent store.
    Thankyou!
    Rock2056







    Originally Posted by nervekeg
    I can no longer use Darwiinremote with emulators.


    [Dial8]
    I had this problem with DarwiinRemote+SNES9X, 10.6.3. It's apparently a problem with these emulators using an outdated method to catch keypresses.

    I found a workaround here:
    http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2...nts-in-mac-osx

    A patch for DarwiinRemote:

    Code:
    --- AppController.m (revision 240)
    +++ AppController.m (working copy)
    @@ -1598,14 +1598,11 @@


    - (void)sendKeyboardEvent:(CGKeyCode)keyCode keyDown:(BOOL)keyDown{
    - CFRelease(CGEventCreate(NULL));
    - // this is Tiger's bug.
    - //see also: http://www.cocoabuilder.com/archive/message/cocoa/2006/10/4/172206
    + // Send system-wide event that e.g. snes9x can see (accessibility API)
    +
    + AXUIElementRef axSystemWideElement = AXUIElementCreateSystemWide();
    + AXUIElementPostKeyboardEvent(axSystemWideElement, 0, keyCode, keyDown);

    -
    - CGEventRef event = CGEventCreateKeyboardEvent(NULL, keyCode, keyDown);
    - CGEventPost(kCGHIDEventTap, event);
    - CFRelease(event);
    usleep(10000);
    }I've also attached a copy of DarwiinRemote compiled from svn with the above change. YMMV. (You'll need to remove ~/Library/Application Support/DarwiinRemote/* before running.)
    Attached Files DarwiinRemote.zip (747.6 KB, 396 views)

    Join Date: Jul 2010 I've also attached a copy of DarwiinRemote compiled from svn with the above change. YMMV.

    (You'll need to remove ~/Library/Application Support/DarwiinRemote/* before running.)[/QUOTE]
    [Dial8]


    Newrougecolor
    Hello

    I've been trying to install the new version you provided of Darwiinremote but for some reason it is not working. I then thought it was because I had to remove ~/Library/Application Support/DarwiinRemote/*, but it is simply not there in the specified folder.

    The error message I get with darwiinremote is :


    Join Date: Jul 2010 Quote:
    Originally Posted by Newrougecolor
    The managed object model version used to open the persistent store is incompatible with the one that was used to create the persistent store.

    Yeah, that's the error you get when it finds the old version of the coredata persistent store. The filename wasn't updated in the SVN version -- oh well.

    Dial8: You should be able to run this in the terminal:

    Code:
    rm -v {,~}/Library/Application\ Support/DarwiinRemote/DarwiinRemote0.7.xml


    Newrougecolor
    macrumors newbie


    Join Date: Jul 2010 omg! It worked! Thank you so much!!
     
  4. CrispyXUK macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008

Share This Page