Dashboard and RAM question?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Eanair, Mar 14, 2009.

  1. Eanair macrumors 6502

    Eanair

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    #1
    Does anyone know if Dashboard takes up RAM when it's not open?

    I've read several places online that Dashboard is a RAM hog so try not to have too many widgets (or completely disable Dashboard to begin with) - but does that apply to when it's open and you're using the widgets, or also when it's closed and you're just doing your normal computing? Does Dashboard only "turn on" when you open it and start using memory then? Or is it always sucking on the RAM regardless of if you have it opened or not?

    My Dashboard isn't open right now, and my Activity Monitor says this about it:

    Dashboard client / 7 threads / 40.22 MB real memory / 1 GB virtual memory

    And again a few lines down:

    Dashboard client / 4 threads / 11.3 8 MB real memory / 917.36 MB virtual memory

    Is that significant for not having Dashboard open?

    I have a fair few of widgets, but I don't open Dashboard on a frequent basis.
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    Unless you disable it using a terminal command, dashboard is always running and using RAM ... but how much depends on how many widgets you use.

    Follow these steps to disable it:

    1. Open Terminal from the Utilites folder.

    2. Type:

    defaults write com.apple.dashboard mcx-disabled -boolean YES

    and press Enter.

    3. Restart the Mac and the Dashboard will be disabled.
     
  3. Eanair thread starter macrumors 6502

    Eanair

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    #3
    Ahhkay, so it's always sucking on my RAM.

    Does how much RAM it uses depend on the number of widgets I've pulled to the screen to actively use? For example, I have 22 widgets total, but I've only dragged 3 of them to my Dashboard area.

    Sorry for the complete technologically illiterate question. :p

    EDIT: PS, if you turn off Dashboard like that, if one day you upgrade your RAM, could you turn it back on?
     
  4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    Yes. It only counts the ones actively displayed in the dashboard area.

    Yes. In that terminal command, change YES to NO.
     
  5. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #5
    Yes, this matters.

    Yes, open Terminal and type

    Code:
    defaults write com.apple.dashboard mcx-disabled -boolean NO
    
    killall Dock
    (You also don't have to restart your Mac as r.j.s. says in step 3 of his post, you can just do "killall Dock" there as well)
     
  6. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    These are instructions that I found somewhere else ... I figured that it wasn't absolutely necessary.
     

Share This Page