Dashboard - "Client not responding" - Help ?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Terwal, Mar 14, 2008.

  1. Terwal macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #1
    Hi,

    Here is a question I asked in a different thread, but this is probably a better place to put it forward.

    I use a MBA, and on a regular basis, after using for a while, my CPU goes to more than 50% and the fan maxes out at 6200pm (using only Safari + Word for example).

    I realized, looking at the Monitor Activity, that I have a "Dashboard Client (Not Responding)" process that takes 90% of the CPU with an RSIZE (?) of 944MB. That doesn't sound right.

    Now... if I force quitting such process: CPU goes down to 4% to 8% and after 30 seconds or so, the fan starts reducing down very slowly from 6200 back to 2500.

    Once I have killed the faulty process, all of my widgets are still working (or so they seem).

    Widgets I am using:
    - iStat
    - Google
    - Wifi locator (can't remember exact name)
    - Fidelity stock tracker
    - Digital clock

    What is the pb with the Dashboard Client ?

    What do I need to do to fix it ?

    Thanks,

    W.
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    I strongly suspect that one of your widgets doesn't get along with Dashboard in Leopard, and is causing the freezing.

    First thing to do is look for updates for your third-party widgets.
    If updates don't solve the problem, or there aren't any, disable widgets until you find the offending widget.
     
  3. BlakTornado Guest

    BlakTornado

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Location:
    Washington, OH
    #3
    It happened to me the other day. It was causing my processor to run at near-full.

    I restarted my computer, deleted my new widgets, and it was fine.
     
  4. Terwal thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #4
    Will try that... how do you delete (as opposed to just close) the widgets you have added to dashboard ?

    Thanks...
     
  5. mr_matalino macrumors 6502a

    mr_matalino

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #5
    Click on "manage widgets" and delete them from the menu
     

Share This Page