Dashboard CPU usage issue

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by AppleDApp, Jan 8, 2012.

  1. AppleDApp macrumors 68020

    AppleDApp

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    #1
    98% or 106% depending on attachement CPU usage for dashboard? This can't be right. Please help.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Open Dashboard and see, what widgets might cause them, or even remove them one by one to pick the faulty one.
    Or use the FORCE QUIT command in Activity Monitor to restart Dashborad and see if it returns.



    Your screenshot, clickable, as it is more than 800 pixel wide:
    [​IMG]
     
  3. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #3
    That is right. Some widgets use lots of memory and/or CPU cycles, even when not active.
     
  4. AppleDApp thread starter macrumors 68020

    AppleDApp

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    #4
    I only use two widgets. I need both.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    What do you need the clock widget for?
    Anyway, you can remove one widget, then check Activity Monitor to see, if it is the culprit. If it is not, remove the other and repeat.
    And if they aren't the culprits, you can add them back.
     

Share This Page