Dashboard - How to ALWAYS open in 32-bit mode

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by MrCheeto, Apr 22, 2010.

  1. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #1
    Because Adobe hasn't the Ballz to release a 64-bit version of Flash Player to all platforms, any application that runs in 64-bit and utilizes Flash will have to use the WebKitPluginHost to cater to Adobe's...32-bitness...

    This means Dashboard now consumes MUCH more resources than in Leopard. I made a Pandora Webclip back in 2007 and it has been FLAWLESS over the years, until Snow Leopard.

    My only hangup is, Dashboard only opens in 32-bit mode during the first uptime that I have checked "Open in 32-bit Mode". After a restart, it opens in 64-bit mode, EVEN while the same option is checked!

    What gives?!
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    Just guessing here. But I think you need to open the System folder>Library>Core Services then open the properties for the Dock app and check the Open in 32-bit mode. This should force Dashboard, which is a part of the Dock.app, to open in 32-mode. Now just restart the computer and it should be fine. I did a similar thing to get my 32-bit screen savers working again.
     
  3. MrCheeto thread starter macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    In theroy no, because the whole
    system can run on a 32bit Core Solo. I'd say give it a try.
     
  5. MrCheeto thread starter macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008

Share This Page