Dashboard - location setting and other things

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by craigyknows, Jul 29, 2007.

  1. craigyknows macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Location:
    Scotland
    #1
    I'm in Glasgow, in bonnie Scotland but Dashboard gives me the weather in Cardiff, Wales :confused: Nothing against Wales but how do I change it to Glasgow. I would also like to change the weather from farenhiet (SP!) to good old Celsius.
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Click on the little i in the bottom right corner. Type Glasgow in the text field and press RETURN. Select your city. Then select Celsius from the drop down list before clicking Done. :)
     
  3. craigyknows thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Location:
    Scotland
    #3
    Mad jew,

    Why don't we cut out the middle man and you come over to Scotland for a holiday and walk me through the mac-ifcation process :D

    Cheers again.
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    No worries mate! :D

    Almost all widgets have little preferences you can customise using the i button. You've just gotta find it on the widget and you're set. :)
     
  5. biscuitcase macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #5
    only problem with that is that it automatically assumes you're in the US.

    anyone know of a way of setting to UK?

    i live in reading, uk but if i put that in i get reading, somewhereintheus...i know this as it certainly aint 32 deg C here!
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    If you hit RETURN after typing Reading, it should give you a list of choices. Hopefully the UK Reading will be in that list.
     
  7. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #7
    Here's proof of european local weather via the std weather widget from apple .. Add the country to the city locale .. If its just city name then it thinks a US based city .. :eek:
     

    Attached Files:

  8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  9. biscuitcase macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #9
    ah ha!

    and there was me just hitting "done"!

    spot on folks, thanks
     

Share This Page