Dashboard Widget Memory Usage in Leopard

Discussion in 'macOS' started by j-a-x, Nov 8, 2007.

  1. j-a-x macrumors 65816

    j-a-x

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    #1
    In Tiger I used to open up Activity Monitor and look for processes with the name Widget in them to get an idea of the memory that my dashboard widgets were taking up. Now in leopard, I only see 2 processes called "Dashboard Client", no more widget processes. I was wondering if anybody knows if there is a way to monitor the memory usage of individual Dashboard Widgets in Leopard.
     
  2. j-a-x thread starter macrumors 65816

    j-a-x

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    #2
    Anybody? Am I the only one who noticed this issue?
     
  3. GNice macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #3
    I noticed, but unfortunately I'm in same boat...wondering what happened...
     
  4. dacreativeguy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    #4
    They've obviously done some work on Dashboard. Opening Dashboard on an older Mac used to churn the HD and was a major event in Tiger. In Leopard, the widgets update much more quickly.
     
  5. j-a-x thread starter macrumors 65816

    j-a-x

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    #5
    Yeah, I noticed Dashboard seems more efficient as well. I just wish there was a way to quantify the memory usage. It's almost as if Apple realized that they got some bad press over the memory usage in Tiger's Dashboard and now they don't want us to know...
     

Share This Page