Dashboard widgets move... very annoying

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ayeying, Nov 5, 2009.

  1. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #1
    So I like to set up my dashboard with 3x weather widgets, since we have microclimates here where I live and iStat pro to monitor the system.

    The problem is, the weather and iStat widgets like to move when I open up dashboard. When it refreshes, the position gets somewhere else, usually lower or upper. I have to 'killall Dock' to refresh the dashboard to its original position.

    Does anyone know of a solution to this problem? I had it since Leopard and now in Snow Leopard also and it's getting really annoying cause sometimes the widgets hide behind the iStat widget and I can't see it without moving it... then it ruins my perfect position (yeah, i'm gonna be anal about that).
     
  2. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #2
    Is
    com.apple.dashboard.client.plist
    or
    com.apple.dashboard.plist
    corrupt?
     
  3. ayeying thread starter macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #3
    I tried deleting those but it still moves. Even tried it on a newly installed Leopard or Snow Leopard. It works for a little while, then it starts moving like theres no tomorrow.
     
  4. Jolly Jimmy macrumors 65816

    Jolly Jimmy

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #4
    I couldn't believe they didn't fix the weather widget when I upgraded to SL. It's a small thing, but it's rather annoying.
     
  5. Ashka macrumors 6502a

    Ashka

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    In SL he weather widget is now run by Yahoo & weather.com

    Try removing the weather widget off the dashboard, restart your mac then put the weather widget back.

    No problems with any major town New Zealand.
     
  6. testcard macrumors 68020

    testcard

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Middle England
    #6
    Tried that, but it still skips around after opening Dashboard.
     
  7. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #7
    You just need a weather widget that only reports on stationary fronts. ;)
     
  8. ayeying thread starter macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
  9. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #9
    found something

    Try this:
    Close that weather widget.
    Open YourUserName/Library/Preferences
    Find this file: widget-com.apple.widget.weather.plist
    Drag it to the Desktop
    Load that widget again

    Did it make a new widget-com.apple.widget.weather.plist file?
    Is your forecast still "on the run"?
     

Share This Page