Dashboard widgets on desktop

Discussion in 'macOS' started by lspence7, Dec 29, 2010.

  1. lspence7, Dec 29, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2010

    lspence7 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    #1
    I have used the terminal command to drag widgets in dashboard to the desktop and it works... One problem though the widgets keep going in front of windows that I open like safari or iphoto. here is a pic.

    file:///Users/Jack/Desktop/Screen%20Shots/Screen%20shot%202010-12-29%20at%2011.59.27%20AM.png well just copy and paste this into the address bar and u will see what I am talking about

    SORRY FOR NO PIC ON THE POST!!I AM STILL GETTING USED TO MACRUMORS
     
  2. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #2
    Unfortunely, we cannot copy and paste that link. It is pointing to a file on your local machine which, of course, we will not have. You need to upload it somewhere.

    You can go it here by clicking "Manage Attachments" when you edit your post, or put in on some photo sharing site.
     
  3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #3
    To add a pic to your post, click Edit Post, then Go Advanced, then click the paperclip icon on the toolbar to select a file on your hard drive to upload.
     
  4. eah2119 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #4
    I have used this terminal command as well to unlock this hidden feature. And I'm experiencing the same problem. I think it's just a fact of life. Apple may change this or they may not. They might get rid of dashboard entirely with Lion.

    You can do one of two things: Use the widgets on your desktop and have them overlapping your windows or just use the widgets in dashboard - simple as that.
     
  5. lspence7 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    #5
    ]

    Alright here is the picture!
    and btw thanks for the tip! hmm why isnt it here i did what you said??

    and also does anyone know how to get the dock indicators from MINIUM2??
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    Still no pic.
     
  7. lspence7 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    #7

    Attached Files:

  8. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #8
  9. lspence7 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    #9
    I have already got candybar but i want the file because the ones from the minium 2 website do not include the indicators so i need the file that will include them

    Here is a pic of the indicators (and the separator would be nice too!)
     
  10. lspence7 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow

Share This Page