Dashboard Widgets Still Not Fixed

Discussion in 'macOS' started by w00t951, Aug 14, 2012.

  1. w00t951 macrumors 68000

    w00t951

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #1
    Since Tiger (as far as I can remember) the weather widget on Dashboard goes hobo on me and jumps around the screen every time Dashboard is launched. Can someone help me with this problem, seeing that Apple has abandoned Dashboard?

    Normally, it's a small jump that's easily corrected. But tonight, two of them actually jumped off the screen. I had to quit and relaunch Dashboard four times to get them to "jump" back into view.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    What Mac OS X version have you installed on what exact Mac?
    To find out what Mac OS X version you run, click :apple: > About This Mac:
    [​IMG]
    To find out, what exact Mac model you use, click :apple: > About This Mac > More Info > Hardware Overview:
    [​IMG]
    To see a more elaborate image explaining the above steps, click here.
    To see a more detailed video tutorial showing the above steps, click here (2 MB, 23s, .mp4).​

    I have never seen such jumping in either Mac OS X 10.4 Tiger, Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard and Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard.

    PS: Dashboard is still there in Mac OS X 10.7 Lion and OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion.
     
  3. tninety macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Location:
    Banned!
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    Yes. Why not, it has some nifty widgets with the press of a button or the touch of seven fingers. I use it daily for the weather widget (yeah, I know, alternatives for the Menu Bar exist) and calendar and world clock and stickies and unit converter.
     
  5. Roman2K~ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
  6. AZREOSpecialist macrumors 68000

    AZREOSpecialist

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
  7. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #7
    Mine sometime take some time to load up, but don't move around. Have you tried removing and adding the widget back in? You can also try cleaning out the Dashboard cache which can also get a little out of control on size.
     
  8. nunes013 macrumors 65816

    nunes013

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #8
  9. sweetbrat macrumors 65816

    sweetbrat

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Redford, MI
    #9
    I use the weather widget, calculator and iStat Pro every day. There really are some useful widgets out there if you know what to look for.

    OP, my weather widget never moves. I'm not sure what could cause something like that, especially since you've experienced it in multiple versions of the OS.
     
  10. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #10
    I've had this problem for years, but only when docking/undocking my laptops from external monitors.

    This causes a resolution change, and it seems like the Apple weather widgets are the only ones that don't remember their "relative spacing".

    Like the OP, it normally just throws their position off a little bit, but I have had them fly completely off of the dashboard too.

    I leave feedback about once or twice a year. Doesn't seem to help. LOL
    http://www.apple.com/feedback/macosx.html
     
  11. AlphaCenturia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Location:
    Singapore
    #11
    Had the same problem with the weather widget(s) when using Lion and Mountain Lion. I just want it to align with my world clocks but it kept jumping all over the place. Could be due to constant mirroring?
     
  12. w00t951 thread starter macrumors 68000

    w00t951

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #12
    I'm running 10.8.0 and it occurs whether I use an external monitor or not. Pretty irritating. You didn't have to go through the process of making that picture.... :p

    I'm not sure if my signature shows up, but it's the same Mac. Early 2011, i7-2820QM, AMD6750M, 8GB 1333MHz DDR3 RAM.

    I'll try to duplicate the problem on film, which shouldn't be too hard. I'm currently going to work, so I'll get back to you with a video.
     
  13. Duke&tank macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #13
    odd mine has always worked just fine 10.4 and up.

    Aaron
     
  14. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #14
    Don't worry, I did not make it for you but for the other folks asking how to do it when I asked them what version or model they were using.

    It shows up, but sadly not when one replies.

    Film or video, for film S16 should suffice, for video BetaSP is okay.
    Or, smartarse coming closer, use QT X to make a screen recording.

    ;)
     
  15. smtips macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    #15
    Uninstall/Reinstall

    Try that. Delete the widget completely and reinstall it.

    Also...Dashboard widgets are still extremely useful. Devs aren't making them because they all want to get paid from the App Store for making some simple little thing that they wouldn't have dared try to charge for a couple years ago.

    There aren't many downloads of current widgets because they just work and they don't necessarily need to be updated. Still tons of people using them, I use quite a few all the time. Why would I want to launch and quit a separate app or dock it and have it sitting there taking more resources than if it's residing in Dashboard? It's more work and messing around than just hitting a button to bring up Dashboard.

    And no you don't have to use Apple's lame Weather widget. There are a lot better weather widgets.
     

Share This Page