dashcode data input

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by gothlampy, Feb 23, 2008.

  1. gothlampy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    #1
    I am trying to build my first widget using dashcode.

    The premise is that there are 3 text fields all correspond to a manufacturer of parts, all 3 manufacturers make the same parts but all 3 have different 3 digit codes for the same part. I have built the widget itself, but wonder how to program it so that if i enter a 3 digit code into one of the fields it will give me the corresponding codes for the other 2 manufacturers in the other 2 fields.

    please help.

    thank you
     
  2. MacFanBoyIIe macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    #2
    Need more input Stephanie....


    If there are multiple sets of part #s coded into it you might want to look into something more complex than a widget. Sounds to me like database table relationships and nasty stuff like that.
     
  3. gothlampy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    #3
    i thought of that

    Yes, i could do this with another app. but really wanted to make this a widget, but it will involve relationship tables, that is pretty much the basis of the whole thing, i was wondering how i would build those tables into the widget.
     
  4. MacFanBoyIIe macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    #4
    Well, if you must you must. I've seen widgets that obviously use data from tables/relationships but I have no idea how to code that either.
    You might want to browse some other forums, more focus on code.
    Some of the other forums have a larger user-base that you can bounce your question off of.
    Good luck to you!
     
  5. gothlampy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    #5
    thanks

    Any idea of what these forums you speak of may be called?

    thanks
     
  6. MacFanBoyIIe macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    #6

Share This Page