DashCode - help me out with this custom widget please

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by mgpg89, Dec 23, 2008.

  1. mgpg89 macrumors 6502a

    mgpg89

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #1
    I live in Belgium and over here we still have download limits (I have 60GB/month which is about the most you can get over here, with a few exceptions)

    I find myself going to my ISP's website every day to check my download meter. (log-in required, of course)

    I was wondering if I could make a widget where you have to insert your log-in data in the 'back' of the widget and then see my download meter on the front?

    I downloaded Dashcode, but I know absolutely nothing about programming.
    So if someone could show me the way on how to do this, I would be forever grateful.
     
  2. mgpg89 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mgpg89

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
  3. mathcolo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
  4. mgpg89 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mgpg89

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #4
    The problem with that is, that I have to log in to the website every time? And the session expires every ** (don't know how many) hours ... so that's not an option really ..
     
  5. MrFusion macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Location:
    West-Europe
    #5
    There is/was one for Telenet. Download that one, dissect the code (find and replace all URL's with the ones you need to use) and post it to the apple download section.
    Maybe the person who wrote that widget is willing to help you with it.
     
  6. mgpg89 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mgpg89

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #6
    OK, thanks!
    I found one for my ISP ... (Skynet)

    But it's fugly, haha.
    Any way to make this prettier using Dashcode?

    You can check out the widget here:
    http://n00.be/widgets/
    skyMonitor is the one.
     
  7. MrFusion macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Location:
    West-Europe
    #7
    That is the guy.
    Probably, but it's free and it works. What more do you want?
    If you want a better version, then you have a great excuse to learn Dashcode. Start hacking, and ask questions on how to do specific things. That will get you more answers than general ones.
     

Share This Page